Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah Published in Hardcopy

Back in December I was contacted by one of the brothers from Dar al-Arqam Publishing in the UK about participating in a couple of translation projects they had in mind. After some thought and consultation with a few dear friends, I agreed to take part. The main project eventually ended up falling apart due to news of another publisher already working on the intended book they wanted me working on. The other smaller project, however, was still a go.

While the book is pretty old now, they had asked me for the necessary permissions to have my translation of Abdul-Muhsin al-Abbad’s second edition of Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah bi Ahl as-Sunnah printed. They felt that it was still very relevant in our current times considering all the controversies the Salafi community is still embroiled with and that it might help with some of those affected and influenced by the exaggertionist mentality. Despite the small intended audience for the book (even though it generally applies to all of the People of the Sunnah and not just those involved in the controversies), they felt that the benefit of having it printed and distributed warranted it being done. So, after speaking with the brothers at QSSC, permission was granted and some necessary corrections and editions were made to the existing published version  (i.e., the one I posted here on my blog). It was also decided that al-Abbad’s short essay Marratan Ukhra Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah bi Ahl as-Sunnah would be translated (again–as it was already translated by the brothers at Madeenah.com) and added as an appendix.

The book is now printed and is available at al-Hidaayah Publishing & Distribution’s online shop (link) for whoever wants to pick up a copy.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of our friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

3 Responses to Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah Published in Hardcopy

  1. Brush Lee says:

    Jazakallah khairan. I just ordered a copy! May Allah reward u, keep me updated if u work on any other projects like this Inshaallah.

    >

  2. ilyas says:

    as salamu alikum akhee…. just wondering is the picture of the shaking of the hand correct?…. should not be right hand to right hand!??….
    or i need my eyes checking… lol

  3. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah, Ilyas.

    I hadn’t noticed that until now. You’re right, it should be right to right. Perhaps the publisher used a mirror image by accident. I wasn’t the one who designed the cover, so I’m not sure what happened there.

Leave a comment