Random Characters In My PDFs?

Over the years, a number of people have asked me regarding the PDFs found here on my blog and the seemingly random characters they contain within. Since not many people venture to the My Work … page (links located in the menu bar at the top of the page and also at the top of the sidebar on the right), I thought I’d post up this notice and sticky it so that it’s the first post people see when they visit my blog.

So, if you’re seeing some seemingly random characters throughout the PDF articles I post here, it’s because you’re missing the font needed for it to display correctly. The usual culprit is the Arabesque II font, which is a font set that contains symbols for Arabic phrases such as subhanah wa ta’ala‘azz wa jallsallallah ‘alaih wa sallamradiyallah ‘anhu/ha/hum/huma, rahimahullah, and many others. Another possible culprit, but one which I haven’t heard being a problem, is the Times Ext Roman font. This is an extension to the Times New Roman font, which is pretty standard for all computers and devices. It contains diacritically marked characters (dots, squiggles and other accents over or above the characters) that aren’t included in the regular Times font set.

If you’re missing either of these fonts, head over to the aforementioned page (My Work …). You’ll find a link to a zip file containing the Arabesque TrueType (.ttf) font file and a link to an exe file that will install the Times Ext Roman font onto your computer.

Install both these font sets and the PDFs should display as they’re intended to.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

Comments are closed.

