Accepting the Reliable Person’s Information?

How’s this for accepting the information of the reliable or credible person (qubul khabar ath-thiqah)? Keep in mind, the belief of Ahl as-Sunnah is that all of the Companions are considered reliable and trustworthy.

Taken from Hâtim al-Awnî’s al-Manhaj al-Muqtarah li Fahm al-Mustalah.

From Abi Sa’îd al-Khudri [who] said,

We were in a sitting with Ubay bin Ka’b [when] Abu Musa al-Ash’ari came [having been] angered (and in a narration: frightened or dismayed) until he stopped. He said, “I implore you, by Allah, have any of you heard Allah’s messenger, may Allah send salutations and peace upon him, saying, «Seeking permission [to enter someone’s home] is [done] three [times]. So if he permitted you, [then enter]. Otherwise, return.»?”

Ubay [asked], “And why is that?”

He said, “Yesterday, I sought permission [to enter] Umar bin al-Khattab’s [home] three times. He did not give me permission [to enter], so I returned [from where I came]. Then today, I came and dropped in on him. I informed him that I came yesterday and gave salam three times, then turned away [and left]. He said, ‘We had heard you, [but] at that time we were busy. If only you sought permission [to enter] until you were given permission.’ [I] said I sought permission [to enter] just as I heard Allah’s messenger [say to do so]. He said, ‘By Allah, I will truly hurt your back and your stomach or you will surely come with someone who testifies this for you!”

So Ubay bin Ka’b said, “By Allah, none will stand with you except the youngest of us. Stand, O Aba Sa’îd.”

So I stood [and] came to Umar. I said I had heard Allah’s messenger, may Allah send salutations and peace upon him, saying this.

Rather, ‘Umar had truly been, just as Imam adh-Dhahabi says, “the one who introduced [the sunnah] of ascertainment for the traditionists with regards to the transmission [of reports and narrations],” meaning he was intent on spreading this sunnah and teaching it.

Here is a Companion not accepting the information given to him by another Companion until it is corroberated by another Companion. Call it what you will … verification, ascertainment, or whatever. It’s what the exaggerationists don’t want you to do when it comes to their claims.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

