More from Abu Usamah Atthahabi: Exposing the Double Standards

AK & the Gang continue to berate and insult with their typical hyperbole posting more dribble about my dear friend Abu Usamah Atthahabi, may Allah protect and preserve him, while he responds calmly and respectfully, may Allah reward and increase him. My buddy, Ali Sabir (may Allah reward and bless him) just let me know of a new three part video posted on Youtube of a talk by Abu Usamah regarding SPubs’s double standards.

Videos after the jump.

Part 1:

Part 2:

Part 3:

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

4 Responses to More from Abu Usamah Atthahabi: Exposing the Double Standards

  1. When he mentioned that point about Abu Uwais’s lecture I couldn’t help but chuckle. It’s so true and those brothers and sisters should have mercy on Abu Uwais, and refrain from spreading it.

  2. Yeah, that talk by Abu Uwais (may Allah have mercy on him) is pretty embarrassing, may Allah forgive him and us.

  3. In the comments section of the first video, one brother commented on a translation of a phrase that Abu Usamah used, which a friend reminded me about today. I had written a reply to that comment, but it was never approved by the video’s uploader for whatever reason.

    In any case, I thought I’d post about it here for whoever’s interested. I think it’s pretty cool from a linguistic standpoint.

    YouTube user “ibnabdilhadi” writes,

    One correction at 20: 47 … in the Hadith “Hudathaa-ul-Asnan” doesnt mean “small teeth” as the respected brother said, rather it means “of small (i.e. young) ages” … “Asnan” is the plural of “Sinn” which is a “Mushtarak” word having two meanings: a tooth, and the age of a person … and the context here is quite clear … Allah knows best

    Personally, I don’t believe much of a correction needed to be made, but being that the audio cuts out shortly after this timestamp, I can see how some people might get confused by it, especially those who aren’t too familiar with both the Arabic and the English languages.

    I haven’t spoken to Abu Usamah about this, so I’m only going on what’s available to me from the video. Right before the audio cuts out, you can hear him say, “This is an ‘ibarah (عبارة) … .” This tells me that he probably explained what “small teeth” means in this context. But since I don’t know what his explanation was, I figure I’ll give you guys mine.

    While I’d consider his translation a bit inaccurate, I wouldn’t say it was a mistake, and this is why. The word hudatha’ (حُدَثَاء), which is plural for hadith (حَدِيث), here literally means “those who are new”. The word al-asnan (الأَسْنَان), which is plural for as-sinn (السِّنّ), here literally means “the teeth”.

    Now, anyone familiar with human growth (or growth of pretty much any animal on the planet), will know that when you get your first teeth, your “new” teeth (or baby teeth), they are usually small. As you age, your baby teeth fall out and are replaced by adult teeth, which are larger. As you age more, usually people will experience a receding gum-line, which gives the illusion of your teeth growing longer. Hence the English expression “long in the tooth”, which refers to someone of old age.

    Arabic is no different. The expressions saghir fis-sinn (or alternately hadith fis-sinn) and kabir fis-sinn figuratively refer to young age and old age respectively. In Lane’s Lexicon, vol. 4, pg. 1438 we find,

    But اسنان in this instance may be [plural] of سِنٌّ in the sense here next following; so that ذوى اسنان may be rendered the advanced in age. Hence, Life; … metaphorically used in this sense as indicative of its length and its shortness; for the teeth vary with the length of life; the measure, or extent, of life; the age attained; used in relation to human beings and others. … . You say رَجُلٌ حَدِيثُ السِّنِّ meaning A young man.

    So while the brother who posted the “correction” is somewhat right about what the expression means, the expression’s literal meaning isn’t far off from what Abu Usamah translated it as to begin with, i.e., those new of the teeth.

  4. Anon says:

    I wonder if anyone read their long-winded responses:

    RG’s edit: Link removed since it’s already been posted here.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

