So the 25th Annual Has Come & Gone

The 25th annual QSS Conference has come and gone, and I’m glad I made the time to attend my first conference in quite some time. Overall it was a good weekend for me; and Allah’s is the praise.

For those of you who still visit this little inactive (and practically dead) webspace of mine wanting to know more about Shaikh Ziyâd Salîm ‘Îd al-‘Abbâdi, I found out a tiny bit more about him (other than the fact that he’s the head of the al-Albani Centre in Jordan). He’s an Assistant Professor at the University of Jordan (UofJ) in the Faculty of Shari’ah’s Foundations of the Religion division. His specialty is in the field of prophetic hadith. He received his bachelor’s degree from the UofJ in 1994, his master’s from UofJ in 1997, and his doctorate from Yarmouk University in 2006. For those of you who haven’t been watching the live stream, the shaikh has a very easy-going demeanour, and a laid-back method of teaching, which I really enjoyed seeing; may Allah bless and increase him.

The conference turnout was pretty good; the numbers weren’t anywhere close to staggering, but it was decent; and Allah’s is the praise. It was especially nice to notice the number of brothers taking notes, more than the small few I usually see at conferences. I also met a number of younger brothers for the first time and got to spend some time with them, first over dinner at one of the local pizza joints before isha’ prayer, which was great, and then with one of them and one of my dear friends at Timmy’s later for a late night session after we left the centre; good times and conversation; and Allah’s is the praise.

In any case, the shaikh’s going to be here with us until Thursday, with talks continuing at QSS. Schedule’s posted in my previous blog post. For anyone who missed out on the talks and wishes to watch them, the video recordings have been posted up (if I’m not mistaken) and can be streamed from QSSC.org.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

2 Responses to So the 25th Annual Has Come & Gone

  1. abu-subay'ah says:

    it was very nice mashaa Allah, and good seeing you & the fam as well. the only downside was that i didn’t stay longer. inshaa Allah i will bring the fam up again soon. maybe this time the other half or possibly both, lol. the lectures by the way were really on point and i’ll be reviewing them from the website in detail…solid knowledge based lesson as always, alhamdulillah

  2. For sure, bro. It was great seeing you and the kids; masha’allah, they’ve grown so much.

    We gotta check out that burger joint I keep telling you about, man. Next visit, insha’allah. LOL.

Leave a Reply

