It’s Come to This … .

Surprise, surprise … a new post by yours truly.

As it should be quite obvious, I haven’t really been doing much with my blog. I’ve let my blog practically “die”, with the exception of the odd comment reply here and there. I’ve taken a step (or more) back from active propagation of Islam and just turned my attention to worldly matters such as work, family, friends, and general time-wasting. As a result I’ve been largely out of the loop with many things related to what’s going on in the world, whether it be religious news or otherwise. However, I thought I’d break my inactivity by posting up regarding an email I received from a friend the other day.

A few nights ago (June 17, 2011), Shaikh ‘Alî Hasan al-Halabî posted up to his forum (kulalsalafiyeen.com) with a post he titled, “Supplication against the oppressors, those who accuse me of [advocating] the unity of religions and do not cease, so say ‘Amin’“. I guess Shaikh ‘Alî Hasan has finally reached the point where he feels enough’s enough and is tired of defending himself against the slanders and lies levied against him by Shaikh Rabî’ bin Hâdî al-Madkhalî and his followers with respect to this specific slander (i.e., advocating unity and freedome of religion). The shaikh, may Allah preserve and protect him, writes,

O Allah, send salutations upon our prophet, Muhammad, upon his family and his companions, collectively.

O Allah, surely You know that I am a slave from Your slaves. I aggrandize Your religion. I call to Your monotheism and to the sunnah of Your prophet (may Allah send salutations and peace upon him). You know, O Lord of the worlds, that I am free of every religion except the religion of Islam. So O Allah, if the one slandering me does not back off from his falsehood and give up his wickedness, then curse him, O Allah, and curse everyone who renouces this truth or follows him upon it, for he has assaulted the people and deceitfully and untruthfully accused me of certifying [the legitimacy and correctness] of a religion other than Your religion or of speaking of the unity or freedom of a religion other than Your religion. So take revenge, O Allah, on him, for we have been patient with him, we were nice to him, and we were civil with him. Clarification was of no use with him. Elucidating did not make things right with him. Rectification did not turn out well with him. He did not cease being persistent on his falsehood and his claims, persistent on his accusations, with slander. O Allah, surely I am oppressed, so come to [my] aid.

I entrust you [all] to Allah, the One whose charges are not lost.

Frankly, I hope this is it for Shaikh ‘Alî Hasan and that he stops replying to his detractors. He is in no need of having to explain and defend himself time and time again. There are so many other things more deserving of his time and attention; so much time and effort has already been wasted on trying to reason with the stubborn and pigheaded. It’s time for the shaikh to move on with his life and his efforts in Islamic propagation and academics.

In the past, we’ve seen other shaikhs reach their limits (e.g., Shaikhs Salîm al-Hilâlî and Abul-Hasan al-Ma’ribî) and challenge their attackers to stand before the Ka’bah with them and invoke Allah’s curse upon the liars from among them (i.e., mubâhalah–and of course, not a single person from their attackers ever accepted their challenges), but I think for me, this is the first time I’ve seen someone skip that challenge altogether and simply concede and beg Allah for help.

Given all that, I shouldn’t have to remind anyone of this, but I’m going to mention it anyhow … in the famous advice the Prophet, may Allah send salutations and peace upon him, gave to Mu’adh bin Jabal, he said, « … and fear the call of the oppressed, for surely, there isn’t a veil between it and Allah» (al-Bukhârî, Muslim, and others).

Edit: Here’s the latest article (Arabic) by Shaikh Rabî’ bin Hâdî al-Madkhalî against Shaikh ‘Aî Hasan al-Halabî, which prompted the latter to make this supplication of desparation … absolutely disgusting.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

21 Responses to It’s Come to This … .

  1. Well said… and lets hope they read this and see that retaliation is just not worth it .. ignoring is better…

  2. subhanallah.. even a sheikh would reach this limit.. what more us..

  3. subhanallah.. even a sheikh would reach this limit..

    With Shaikh Rabi’ practically excommunicating Shaikh Ali Hasan in that article (yes, takfir!), I’m not too surprized. I actually wish he wouldn’t have waited so long before (apparently) giving up the fight. It’s been a huge waste of his time and attention, especially with most scholars “washing their hands of him (i.e., Shaikh Rabi’)” after “recognizing his academic reality” as Shaikh Mukhtar Taibawi said in his reply.

  4. Khaled says:

    This is a real big disappointment. I mean, what exactly is there to defend about the Shaykh anymore?

    Why did we love him and think of him as an “imam” in the first place?

  5. This is a real big disappointment. I mean, what exactly is there to defend about the Shaykh anymore?

    Why did we love him and think of him as an “imam” in the first place?

    As with all people of knowledge, we respect and love them for their knowledge and whatever contributions they’ve made that benefit people. Defense of individuals is done whenever warranted, especially in cases of severe injustice. I’ll still defend the shaikh if I feel that my defending him will do any good and is deserved (i.e., when he’s clearly being oppressed), otherwise, you probably won’t hear a peep out of me. I’ve been disappointed with the shaikh (and that’s putting it extremely mildly for years now–ever since the whole al-Ma’ribi thing blew up and I started seeing the bullying, the half-truths, and sometimes the flat-out lies he was using to attack those who don’t toe his line. May Allah forgive us and him and guide us to what He loves and is pleased with.

  6. Mohamed says:

    Dear Br, Rasheed,

    Assalaamu Alaikum,

    Brother I am sorry for going out of subject. But I understand its so important to clarify as it relates to Aqeedah and some the individuals are whom i know are getting confused in Istawa (Establishment) and Nazul (Descent) of Allah [link removed] The worst part is they refer their claims from the earlier Imaams of Sunnah.

    And also about Quran and sunnah on prostration issue.

    [link removed]

    Please clarify as its more urgent

    May Allah reward you the best!

    Abu Abdillaah Dilshan

    RG’s edit: Links removed by moi.

  7. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah, brother Dilshan.

    The issues touched on in the links you provided have all been dealt with in the past by others. I’m sure that with a bit of searching, you can easily find articles (and even entire websites) that deal specifically with the many issues raised in those two articles (e.g., the issues pertaining to Allah’s names and characteristics mentioned, ahad hadith and whether or not they are acceptable evidences for deriving creed, etc.).

    I myself have a couple articles that briefly touch on these things, one a creed written by the two Razis, Imams Abu Hatim and Abu Zur’ah, another by Imam Abul-Hasan al-Ash’ari, who many of these guys claim to follow. I also have a couple of posts titled Doubts & Their Replies, parts 1 (here) and 2 (here), which also touch on points related to these matters.

  8. Aziz Abdul-Zahir says:

    I am not here to defend the stance of shaykh Rabee or to discredit it. the Issues between these two will be sorted out by Allah and our comments and “insights” might be the source of more fitnah than is already occurring. I am only posting this because some of the comments seem to be made while unaware of the shaykh’s status whether his stances are agreed with r not.

    [Biography of Shaikh Rabi’ bin Hadi al-Madkhali removed anyone who doesn’t know the shaikh can refer to his bio here.]

    RG’s edit: Cut and pasted bio replaced by link to original source.

  9. as-Salam ‘alaikum wa rahmatullah, Aziz.

    Welcome to my blog.

    FYI, most of those who post comments regularly to my blog are well aware of who Shaikh Rabi’ is and the status he holds (whether deserved or not in reality), but may Allah reward and bless you for your concern and for providing those who don’t know the shaikh with his biography.

  10. Mohamed Farhan Mohamed Samsudin says:

    Akh Rasheed, do you mind listing the points of Shaikh Mukhtar Taibawi’s reply in brief?

  11. as-Salam ‘alaikum wa rahmatullah, Farhan.

    I’ll try to put together a brief summary of the reply before posting it up rather than just writing one up without any real preparation, otherwise I’d probably just translate the whole thing (albeit paraphrased) and it won’t end up being all that brief (the thing came out to about 5 pages printed, and that’s with shrinking the font size a bit). I’ll post up when I’m done, with Allah’s permission.

  12. wa ‘alaikum as-Salam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh.

    Jazakallah khair akhi.

    (btw, do note of my change of email.)

  13. Ali_Trinidadi says:

    salaam alaikum….rasheed, just wanted to know if you got anywhere wrt the translation of Shaykh Taibaawi’s reply (summaried)? I read pieces of it in arabic and understood quite a few things…but at my level of arabic, I see the pieces but can’t always put the puzzle together.

  14. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam, Ali.

    I have to apologize to everyone, especially Farhan, who initially asked for the summary. Due to a combination of distractions, procrastination and generally not really wanting to do it, I’ve been putting it off. When I have felt like doing it, I start, stop after a bit, delete what I’ve written, then turn my attentions elsewhere and then the cycle repeats after some time.

    Hopefully, I can muster up some energy and desire to post it sometime soon. Again, my apologies.

  15. Ali_Trinidadi says:

    salaam alaikum yaa akhi…I think I understand the keep-back…maybe it’s has pretty much to do with the nature of what you’re translating. In my opinion, it’s kind of heavy on the soul. If you end up not doing, I’ll understand, no pressure.

  16. A friend of mine (Abu Musa–may Allah rewand and bless him) just told me that what I said above was a bit blunt. I hope I didn’t offend anyone by it, especially Farhan. I was just being frank and wasn’t trying to be rude or offensive or anything of that nature. Farhan, if you felt it was rude and abrupt or if you were offended in any way, please forgive me.

  17. Abu Talha says:

    I have some questions: (Since this thing is out of control, as could’ve been predicted)

    1. Can we ascertain that the document on sahab that shaykh ali is referring to, was actually written by rabee al madkhali? How certain is that?

    2.Where and/or what is rabee al madkhali referring to? Is there a specific document or a speech he’s referring to? After reading the article, it doesnt mention specific events/date/speech. Whether written or audio, that the person is referring to.

    3.Is he making takfeer of him or what? Why not just come out and say it? (Depends on Q1).

    4. What on earth is goin on man!!!!????!!

    To add to this…

    A. If rabee al madkhali is a ‘shaikh’ as is mentioned in shaikh ali’s books, how can he be asking for a curse to be upon a ‘shaikh’ or ‘scholar’?? Is this from the sunnah?

    B. Can we ascertain that the ‘reply’ from shaikh ali is actually from him? (Depends on Q.a.)

    C. What is goin on maaaan??!!! esh haadha ya akhaaana. Maadha yahsul?

    Lastly….

    It appears that if this IS INDEED from shaikh ali al halabi, we eagerly await instances when one can request that the curse of Allah be upon a ‘shaikh’. I’m sure there are many juhalaa who can put that clause to some use somewhere. Ohhh man.

    RG’s edit: Combined three posts into one.

  18. as-Salam ‘alaikum, old friend.

    Just some quick answers to these questions, Allah willing:

    1 & B. Ascertaining the origins of both articles:
    In the end, there’s no real way other than verbal confessions from both that they wrote them as we don’t really know who’s behind the usernames. The most we can say is that both posts were posted under their names. Whether they’re the ones posting under their names themselves or they have students doing it for them on their behalf, Allah is more knowledgeable. I, myself, am not privy to that info.

    2 & 3. Shaikh Rabi’ is referring to a Friday sermon that Shaikh Ali Hasan gave in front of the King of Jordan. In this sermon, Shaikh Ali Hasan praised the King for his efforts in trying to aid Islam. Among the specific examples mentioned was the King’s contribution/support to the infamous “Amman Message”. The logic, according to Shaikh Ali Hasan’s detractors, is that Shaikh Ali Hasan praised the King for having a part in the Amman Message, which supports the concept of unity of religions and human brotherhood, which is disbelief. So in short, Shaikh Ali praised disbelief, which is disbelief. Obviously the charge of excommunication is not explicit, but at the very least, one can say pretty easily that the charge is very, very, very strongly implied.

    A. There have been numerous examples in the past, both distant and recent, where scholars have challenged others to invoke the wrath and curse of Allah upon the liars (i.e., mubahalah). Some recent examples include Shaikh Salim al-Hilali issuing such a challenge in the response I translated, which he gave to a question asked to him in Brixton back when the whole Shaikh Abul-Hasan thing was going on, as well as Shaikh Abul-Hasan, himself, issuing such a challenge to his accusers and detractors when they were attacking him and trying to bring him down. Most importantly, there’s the example taken from the Qur’an, where Allah tells Prophet Muhammad to gather himself and his family and to tell his accusers to do the same and together they should all invoke Allah’s curse upon the liars.

    4 & C. What’s going on? Madness, bro. And it’s been going on for a good part of the past decade. Some serious attitude adjustments and behavioural reform needs to go on among Salafis. The oppression and injustice going on has to stop.

  19. Abu Talha says:

    Wa Alaikum Salaam.

    I visited the ‘amman conference’ website and found that there were actually 2 conferences. The second one being the ‘amman interfaith conference’. Read quite a bit and do not find much controversy except ‘all noble and heavenly religions’ in reference to the 3 major religions. Though im uncertain as to whether i saw the entire articles without having downloaded them. It would be interesting to get shaikh ali al halabi’s take on the conferences, and whether there was anything objectionable agreed upon. I somehow find it difficult for the host king Abdullah to openly declare a unification of religious principles, into one large religion, publicly. Such a declaration would not only raise the eyebrows of muslims, but the many christian scholars endorsing the event. The details of such a proposal/adventure would be quite exciting. Not to mention that the host King would run the risk of being openly declared to be a kafir by many people. On the contrary I can imagine there being an open message of tolerance based on common beliefs, which appears to be theme, whether that was the actual goal or not.

  20. Aboo Ibraheem says:

    I advise myself and those on this forum to fear Allah in regards to the people of knowledge, whether in saudi or jordan. Let us not be tools to inflame fitnah!

    Shaykh Fawzaan the one who belittles the scholars belittles the prophets:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/easyonetwothree#p/search/0/E22k3F6kNQ0

    Shaykh Saalih aSuhaymi, one of the elder scholars in Madeenah mentions the importance of returning to the scholars, and mentions some of the prominent ones:

    http://www.youtube.com/user/AbooAbdillah#p/search

    Advice to the Youth of Ahl us-Sunnah from Shaykh Sultaan al-‘Eeid (hafidhahullah).

    View
    http://www.salafimanhaj.com/pdf/SalafiManhaj_Rifq

  21. as-Salam ‘alaikum wa rahmatullah, Aboo Ibraheem.

    May Allah reward and bless you for your advice and welcome to my blog (it’s not a forum). The advice is much appreciated and accepted. I have to ask, however, where on this blog post of mine, or even in the comments to it, is there belittlement of scholars? I linked to an article where one shaikh is clarifying that another is ignorant, which by all the evidence is an accurate description.

    Raising individuals above their proper status is just as bad as belittling them and we all need to beware of falling into either extreme. Way too many of us have this false notion that our scholars are super godly and infallible. Even though many of us say the opposite with our tongues, our attitudes and actions belie our words and make it painfully obvious that many of us hold our scholars up to the levels of demigods–may Allah safeguard us from that.

Leave a Reply

