The Creed of the Two ar-Razis

It’s been a while since I posted anything here and even longer since I translated anything so I thought I’d post this up. I just finished working on this particular artile, which has been translated previously by SP and published in their book, Moutains of Knowledge. I’ve also seen someone else’s translation of it on the internet somewhere, but I don’t remember where.

In any case, I thought I’d work on this because I’m thinkng about translating Shaikh Muhammad Musa Nasr’s explanation of this creed, which he titled, al-Intisâr bi Sharh ‘Aqîdah A’immah al-Amsâr (trans. The Triumph with Commentary of the Creed of the Imams of the Metropolises). My daughter is now 7 yrs old, so my wife’s begun teaching her how to pray and I’ve been thinking of lessons I could prepare to teach her Islamic creed. I know there are probably better texts to go over with her more suited to children, but I thought the shaikh’s explanation of this creed would be a good thing to go over spread out over some time as a series of lessons. I’ve still yet to decide if I’m going to end up posting the lessons I prepare (as a series of articles), or if I’m even going to even go through with this idea, so we’ll see.

Any how, here’s the text of the creed (PDF) with some brief explanitory annotations from myself. Printing’s been disabled (sorry, guys), but you should be able to download and save it to disk.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

5 Responses to The Creed of the Two ar-Razis

  1. Abdullah says:

    Great read, May Allah Reward You

  2. For those interested, my buddy, Abu Khaliyl Sylvester, will be giving a brief explanation of this creed at Masjid as-Salam in Mobile, Alabama on Saturday, March 26, 2011 @ 8:00-10:00pm CST (9:00-11:00pm EST). The talk will also be broadcast on PalTalk for those not able to attend in person.

    For more details, you can download the flyer here (PDF, right-click, save as).

  3. Mehdi Sheikh says:

    Assalamualaikum,

    Why are you translating these if they are already available? Are those translations deficient or wrong in any way?

  4. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah, bro.

    I mentioned why I was working on this in the main post. It’s part of Shaikh Muhammad Musa Nasr’s explanation of the creed, which I was thinking of using to prepare lessons for to teach my daughter Islamic creed. I generally tend to dislike using other people’s work and would rather use my own, which is why I didn’t want to use any of the translations I found for it (I’m the same with with using Qur’anic verses and hadiths … I’d rather translate them myself than use existing translations).

  5. Mehdi Sheikh says:

    I get it. I guess on top of that there would be copyright issues if you ever published it as well.

Leave a Reply

