Once Again, Gentleness, O People of the Sunnah

 I’m kind of late posting about this, as the article was published almost two weeks ago. Shaikh ‘Abdul-Muhsin al-Abbad has penned a new article titled, Marrah Ukhrâ Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah bi Ahl as-Sunnah (trans. Once Again, Gentleness, O People of the Sunnah, with the People of the Sunnah), in which he readdresses some of the issues he touched upon in his very beneficial book, Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah bi Ahl as-Sunnah, originally written about seven or eight years ago and then republished about three or four years ago with some additions (my translation of this second edition can be found and downloaded here).

I haven’t read through the article in its entirety yet, but I thought I’d post it for my visitors who are able to read Arabic and haven’t seen it yet: Marrah Ukhra, Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah bi Ahl as-Sunnah (PDF) by Shaikh ‘Abdul-Muhsin bin Hamad al-‘Abbad.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

17 Responses to Once Again, Gentleness, O People of the Sunnah

  1. Mohamed Farhan Bin Mohamed Samsudin says:

    Salam ‘alaik. I guess I’ll have to wait for the translation..

  2. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah, bro.

    At the moment I’m not really considering translating it (although I had been asked to do so when the article first came out), but we’ll see … . As I mentioned I haven’t read the whole thing yet; I think I’ve only read the first couple paragraphs (at most).

    There are a couple reasons why I’m not too enthused to translate it. The first is that a pretty influential friend of mine who I’ve had the blessing of learning from voiced some observations he had with the article when I asked him about it over the weekend. His observations were things I was kind of expecting, but was hoping wouldn’t be present in the article.

    Secondly, I think that his advice (even if it were to be given in the manner I’d hoped) would probably fall on deaf ears, as the first book kind of did. Those that the first book, and most likely this follow up article, are directed at haven’t changed. In fact, most of them try to bury any advices Shaikh Abdul-Muhsin has given them regarding these issues under the carpet. A friend of mine has told me that usually all of the shaikh’s new articles are posted up on the Sahab forums. This one, however, was not. Instead, they’ve posted Shaikh Ahmad an-Najmi’s reply to the first book (which I’m sure most should remember was a warning against the book).

    Recently, I received an email from TROID’s mailing list containing a post written by Moosaa Richardson that was posted to their forum. In it he tries (and fails miserably) to prove that Shaikh Rabi’ is on the same methodology as Shaikhs Ibn Baz, al-Albani, and Ibn Uthaimin and that those who say Shaikh Rabi’ is not on the same methodology of the three shaikhs are not from the people of knowledge, adding that “[a]s for the statements of taxi drivers and their students, or anonymous internet writers, that the manhaj of Shaykh Ibn Úthaymeen was other than the manhaj of Shaykh Rabee’, etc… then it is simply jahl murak-kab (compound ignorance) … .” He also says to “… let those who insists that Shaykh Ibn Úthaymeen was upon a different manhaj than Shaykh Rabee’ repent from their audacious lie against Shaykh Ibn Úthaymeen, and their oppression of Shaykh Rabee’ as well.”

    For those of you who have read Shaikh Abdul-Muhsin’s Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah, I’m sure you all remember that the shaikh clearly says that Shaikh Rabi’–and others–have differred from the methodology of Shaikhs Ibn Baz and Ibn Uthaimin (see pgs. 40-42 of my translation of Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah). I wonder what Moosaa’s trying to imply with these words. And he wants to go on about scare-mongering?

    May Allah guide us to what pleases Him.

    RG’s edit: I reworded a couple of sentences and added a couple of links.

  3. abdullah says:

    “There are a couple reasons why I’m not too enthused to translate it. The first is that a pretty influential friend of mine who I’ve had the blessing of learning from voiced some observations he had with the article when I asked him about it over the weekend. His observations were things I was kind of expecting, but was hoping wouldn’t be present in the article.”

    I do not understand?

    RG’s edit: Corrected a typo I made in the statement quoted from me.

  4. I was hoping (I can’t really speak for my friend) that certain shaikhs would receive the same sort of reprimand that Shaikh Falih received in Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah, but as I expected, Shaikh Abdul-Muhsin didn’t really give them that. That’s one thing. There are a couple of other things, but I won’t get into it on my blog.

    RG’s edit: I should mention that the two things I mentioned in the previous comment are related to each other. I don’t believe that the advice the shaikh has given in the past (i.e., Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah), which he reiterated in this new article, will have much affect in changing the behaviour of those he’s advising.

  5. أبو من says:

    I don’t think that any of those will change the behaviour of those he is advising, that I think might mostly return to reviewing one’s position in front of Allah and humbling oneself.

    BUT

    I think that these things are important for those who are under the influence of the ghulaat and feel that they are obligated to fall in line because “this is the manhaj” and “these are the salafi ‘ulamaa”.

    I just had a quick look at Shaykh ‘Abdul Muhsin’s حث على اتباع السنة where he singles the perpetrators out.

    Has that been translated?

  6. History tends to repeat itself, bro, simply because people never seem to learn. This is merely based on the experiences I’ve had, even up until today. Allah is more knowledgeable though. Maybe I’m wrong and this new advice will affect the masses in ways the first didn’t and couldn’t.

    As for al-Hathth ‘ala Ittiba’ as-Sunnah, the shaikh added the last two chapters of that book to the end of his second edition of Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah, which is the edition I published in English. So yeah, that portion has been translated along with my personal footnotes explicitly mentioning the names of the shaikhs Shaikh Abdul-Muhsin was talking about but left unnamed.

    By the way, there’s a slew of new posts on the Kulalsalafiyeen forum regarding Shaikh Abdul-Muhsin’s new article, including comments on Shaikh Salih as-Suhaimi’s support of it, as well as Shaikh Ali al-Halabi’s explanation of it, and some other things. For those of you able to read Arabic and are interested in this stuff, it’s something to check out.

  7. abdullah says:

    Did you see this brother rasheed? May Allah reward you.

    http://kulalsalafiyeen.com/vb/showthread.php?t=23476

  8. May Allah reward you as well, bro.

    Yeah, saw it the other day. Brother Abu Salma (whose blog is linked to in the Blogroll) seems to be the one who posted it, may Allah reward and bless him.

  9. أبو من؟ says:

    Isn’t it a bit ridiculous that people are going about “explaining” Shaykh ‘Abdul-Muhsin’s naseehah?

    It’s either you get it or you don’t…what is there to explain?

  10. One could ask the same thing about having to explain what Salafism or what a methodology is (which I tried to do in Salafism, Do You Really Get It?). Unfortunately, there are people out there, for whatever reason, who will need things spelled out for them, letter by letter–I mean, just look at the average poster on SalafiTalk. After seeing some of the things written and said about Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah, I’m not all that surprised that others would feel the need to explain this new article.

  11. Mohamed Farhan Bin Mohamed Samsudin says:

    Salam ‘alaikum. The translation of the new book is available for download on madeenah.com. Akh Rasheed, i tagged you on Facebook. =)

  12. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah, bro.

    May Allah reward and bless you. Here’s the link to their article (PDF) for whoever is interested in reading it in English.

  13. أبو من؟ says:

    Have you guys seen what sahab and baida are posting as a reply (from the shaykh from the south رحمة الله عبيه)

    It seems to me that back then (as it is now) it (and they) are missing the point:
    —> Those people that you’re calling mubtidi’ah and placing so much emphasis and expending so much effort in bringing down and destroying —>>>>> They are from ahlis-sunnah! (in the view of Shaykh Abdul-Muhsin and everyone else from ahl assunnah except for your party)

    That, and their (the small group’s) principles are being misapplied and are in some cases just plain wrong.

  14. Yeah, Zejd Pequin, one of the few remaining active posters on SalafiTalk.net bumped up an old thread about Rifqan Ahl as-Sunnah with a link to the statement made by Shaikh Ahmad an-Najmi. These guys are brain dead.

    What’s amusing about this latest article is the fact that Shaikh Rabi’ and those upon his way accuse those they attack (like Shaikhs Abul-Hasan, Ali Hasan, Adnan Ar’ur, etc.) of being Ikhwani (or at the very least opening the doors to the deviances of their methodology), yet here’s Shaikh Abdul-Muhsin explicitly saying that the path these people have taken resembles the way of al-Ikhwan! Pot calling the kettle black, anyone? Or perhaps the famous Arabic line of poetry, “She accused me of her disease and then slipped away,” would be more fitting.

  15. Naeem says:

    assalamu alaykum wa rahmatullah

    Is it true that shaykh yahya al-hajoori called out spubs this past week?

  16. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh, Naeem.

    From what’s being circulated by one of the Torontonian students in Dammaj and what I’ve seen on some Arabic forums, yeah. I wouldn’t really put too much worth to his words for a slew of reasons (one of which being the question was fairly loaded, as is usually the case with these exaggerators).

  17. Ebu Enisah says:

    [Link removed … already provided above]

    Shaykh Saalih As-Suhaymee said: “This treatise is specifically important for the students of knowledge, do not pay attention to what the owners of certain meagre websites will say regarding it; they only criticise this type of treatise out of arrogance in themselves and ignorance as to what they say; and [despite this] they have given themselves particular titles. This treatise is a great treatise…”
    Date Published: Friday, 07 January 2011

Leave a Reply

