Inattentiveness & the Motor City

Some of you guys (especially those subscribed to my blog) may have noticed a post put up a few days ago titled, Montrealers! Head “Towards the Truth”, which disappeared almost as quickly as it appeared.

Well, I had wanted to put up something about a dear friend of mine, Moutasem Alhameedy, who was in town giving a series of lectures at the Abu Huraira Center (I’ll post the links to Abu Huraira’s Ustream videos of Moutasem’s talks in this blog post later, Allah willing–I’m writing this as I’m getting ready for work). I had the blessing of hooking up with him for a bit on Friday and Saturday of last week (July 9th & 10th). Since I haven’t seen him since 2005 when I first visited Luton, England, we spent some time catching up and also chatted about some things related to what’s going on with Salafism over some of Canada’s famed Timmy’s coffee along with two other dear friends of mine: Navaid Aziz (who was also in town on some personal business) and Abdulmonem Burkhes.

Anyhow, I had a bit of a brain fart. I had seen an advertisement for a conference in Montreal on Moutasem’s blog (which you guys should all go check out; he’s got some really nice posts) and thought I’d post something about his recent lectures at Abu Huraira as well as promote what I thought was an upcoming conference; I misread the dates as July 25-27 instead of June 25-27 and deleted my blog post when I realized the gaff. I was going to repost something about his recent talks, but didn’t have time to do so, as we were preparing for a road trip to Michigan’s Detroit area. We (my brother, his family and I and my family) visited Ann Arbor, Livonia, Sterling Heights and Dearborn, leaving Toronto early Thursday morning and returning late Saturday night. I might post up about some of highlights of the trip, but we’ll see–much love to Ali Sabir and friends for linking up with us before we left and being so hospitable; may Allah reward you all emmensely.

Anyhow, I gots to get off to work. And as I said, I’ll edit this post when I have time to add the links to those talks, Allah willing.

Edit:

Here are those video links I promised.

Enjoy!

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

4 Responses to Inattentiveness & the Motor City

  1. Abul Qayyim Faheem Ibn Talut says:

    Salaams akh,

    What is the name of Moutasem’s blog?

  2. Salaams akh,

    What is the name of Moutasem’s blog?

    He’s just got it titled with his surname, “Alhameedy”. The link to his blog’s at the first mention of his name, as well as in the list of blogs I have in my blogroll.

  3. abu-subay'ah says:

    mashaa Allah…you are always welcome. im glad i had the chance to introduce you and the family to some detroit flava. it’s only right to do so as you bros are always hospitable and taking us americans to different spots when we come there.

  4. Wafaa says:

    Good job masha’Allah,may Allah bless you and shaikh Moutasem, please keep it up.

Leave a Reply

