New Look for May 2010

As should be pretty obvious, I’ve changed the theme for my blog. I’ve been wanting to do so for a few years now, but since I’m not paying to use WordPress or any of its custom services, my theme options are pretty limited and I haven’t found that one theme that I’m completely satisfied with, including both the old one I’ve used for years as well as this new one, which WordPress introduced to its users quite some time ago.

As gay as it is, I’ve also decided to try out this poll feature that WordPress added a while back as well. Those of you who visit regularly (or those of you who don’t) can vote on which of the two themes you like best. The poll’s after the break, so vote, vote, vote. Or don’t … it doesn’t really matter; I’m just bored. Poll’s open for about a week, then it should close automatically or something like that.

Oh yeah, regular visitors to my blog will also  notice a couple of new widgets off to the right. I’ve added a subscription thingy for those who want to receive updates via email. There’s also a top rated widget that will show the top rated posts and comments found on my blog. I’m not sure how this last one will work, but we’ll see.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

7 Responses to New Look for May 2010

  1. Yusuf says:

    Allahu akbar, a new thoub.. what else do you have up your sleeve for this year?

    الْبَسْ جَدِيدًا وَعِشْ حَمِيدًا وَتَوَفَّ شَهِيدًا يُعْطِكَ اللَّهُ قُرَّةَ عَيْنٍ فِي الدُّنْيَا وَالْآخِرَةِ

  2. Ha! Not sure what’s in store. We’ll see though. Thanks for the supplication, heh.

  3. akhee.. if we’ve subscribed onto your blog to get updates before, we don’t need to subscribe again, do we?

  4. akhee.. if we’ve subscribed onto your blog to get updates before, we don’t need to subscribe again, do we?

    I don’t think you’d need to if you’ve already subscribed. I’ve only added the widget to the side bar to make things easier for visitors.

  5. Ha, wow. 60% so far in favour of the old theme. Out of curiousity, for those of you who voted nay, what about the old one do you like better than the new one?

  6. Ibn_Ahmed says:

    Assalamu alaykum akheee,
    I thought there was something wrong with my internet explorer…obviously not! Neways I voted no- I prefer the old one because of the colour …this page is way 2 white… And there just something about the old lay out which also made it easier to read and browse through Allahu’alam. BarakAllahufeek.

  7. umm aasiyah says:

    asalaamu alaikum,

    browsing around, this new layout does seem kinda bland. theres no colour and not much character to it. i dont feel as though it really reflects who you are (not sure if you’re really going for that but anyhow…)

    this layout doesnt really provide a warm ambience for your readers. its quite cold. not enticing or eye catching at all.

    with that said, i’ll still read your blog! ha

Leave a Reply

