Shaikhs Abdul-Adhim Badawi & Mashhur Hasan Salman Coming To Toronto!

They just announced after Friday sermon that Shaikhs ‘Abdul-‘Adhîm bin Badawî and Mash·hūr Hasan Salmân, both students of Shaikh al-Albanî’s will be coming to visit Toronto; firsts for both shaikhs! I know it’s very short notice given the dates they’ll be speaking at QSSC, but please spread the word!

More details (as well as more updates added May 22, 2010) after the break.

Shaikh ‘Abdul-‘Adhîm will be giving lectures on purification and prayer from Kitâb atTahârah wasSalâh (most likely from his renowned jurisprudence primer, al-Wajîz fî Fiqh as-Sunnah wal-Kitâb al-‘Azîz). That will be on May 22nd and 23rd, from 2.00pm through 10.15pm. I’m told the shaikh will actually be in town prior to this time, so he’ll be visiting various mosques and centres around the GTA leading up to the Victoria Day weekend.

As for Shaikh Mash·hūr, he’ll be giving lectures on jurisprudential principles (al-Qawâ’id al-Fiqhiyyah) on May 29th and 30th, from 2.00pm through 10.15pm. No word on how long the shaikh will be staying , but I’m sure he’ll be here for enough time to allow for lectures during the weekdays (either prior to the weekend or following it) at various mosques and centres around the GTA. I’ll post up when I get more details, Allah willing.

As mentioned above, this will be both shaikhs’ first visits to Toronto (and probably to Canada). Please spread the word so that people can benefit from these shaikhs. As always, lectures will be broadcasted live on QSSC.org and QSSC’s Ustream page for those who are unable to attend live in person. More details will be made available on QSSC.org, so please check for updates.

Update (May 16, 2010): Upcoming talks by Shaikh ‘Abdul-‘Adhîm have been posted on QSSC.org.

Wednesday May 19th: Jami Mosque at 7:00 pm
Thursday May 20th: Abu Huraira Center at 7:00 pm
Friday May 21st: Jumua Khutbah at QSSC at 1:30 pm
Friday May 21st: Sh. Badawi’s Lecture at QSSC at 7:00 pm

Update (May 22, 2010): Upcoming talks by Shaikh Mash·hur have been posted on QSSC.org.

Wednesday May 26th: Jami Mosque at 7:00 pm
Thursday May 27th: Abu Huraira Center at 7:00 pm
Friday May 28th: Sh. QSSC from 7:00 pm until 10:00 pm
Saturday May 29th: QSSC from 2:00 pm until 10:00 pm
Sunday May 30th: QSSC from 2:00 pm until 10:00 pm

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

21 Responses to Shaikhs Abdul-Adhim Badawi & Mashhur Hasan Salman Coming To Toronto!

  1. Abu Uthman says:

    As-salaamu `alaykum

    “As for Shaikh Mash·hūr, he’ll be giving lectures on jurisprudential principles (al-Qawâ’id al-Fiqhiyyah) on May 29th and 30th, from 2.00pm through 10.15pm. No word on how long the shaikh will be staying , but I’m sure he’ll be here for enough time to allow for lectures during the weekdays (either prior to the weekend or following it) at various mosques and centres around the GTA. I’ll post up when I get more details, Allah willing.”

    Maa shaa’ Allaah that’s gold right there! Please do record and upload it (inshaa’ Allaah). I hope he comes London one day.

  2. Abu Uthman says:

    Sorry akhi, I didn’t notice that Ustream link…

    Was-salaam

  3. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah, Abu Uthman.

    No worries. But as always, the lectures (at least the ones that take place at QSSC) will be recorded and made available (probably for sale through QSSC).

  4. Abu Uthman says:

    As-salaamu `alaykum warahmatullaah

    I just “clocked” which Badawi this is (that’s what happens when you don’t read properly). Maa shaa’ Allaah, sounds like a great event overall. I’ve been to Shubra’ before but didn’t know the Shaykh teaches there. Feels kind of annoying that I missed the opportunity when I had it (I missed plenty there)… Only have myself to blame for that.

    On the side akhi, this may be petty so forgive me, but I can see you emphasised your mudood with î for ‘ee’ but ū for ‘oo’ (as in Mashhūr, Badawî). Any phonetical reason for that?

  5. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh,

    On the side akhi, this may be petty so forgive me, but I can see you emphasised your mudood with î for ‘ee’ but ū for ‘oo’ (as in Mashhūr, Badawî). Any phonetical reason for that?

    I use a different method of transliteration that pretty much everyone else (e.g., Orientalists typically use ā, ī, & ū, whereas many Muslim translators will use â, î, & û or aa, ee, & oo—and then there’s all the other transliteration standards that have been made). I use my own “hybrid” method for transliteration, which uses the accents how they’re used in one dictionary’s pronunciation key (I forget which dictionary it came from at the moment, but I’m looking for it and will post up when I find it).

  6. Abu Uthman says:

    Oh ok. Jazaak Allaahu khayran. The combo of strokes and hats seemed “new”. I’m still trying to work out how people use the dots underneath letters without writing in TeX etc… But yeah, I hate to divert from discussion so I’ll leave it at that. Take care akhi,

    Was-salaam

  7. No problem, bro. May Allah reward you with good as well.

    I don’t know if you’ve found it already or if it’s even what you need, but I’ve linked to a font that’ll give you the diacritical dots under the letters. You can find it on the “My Work …” page (Times Ext Roman).

  8. Abu Uthman says:

    Yeah I did see that but being an .exe file and me, a mac user, we don’t go down too well. I actually like using TeX for writing (never used the romanisation packages), but what I was really and ideally looking for is some unicode characters with the dots, such that I’d be able to write them in this very comment.

    Alhamdulillaah, using TeX (see the second to last column in the table from the link you sent) means that you can pretty much use any of the different standards. The output is nice but it’s a bit geeky and requires (very) basic mark-up programming skills; if you can html you’ll be fine… For print or e-book publishing, it might be a good writing option (hint, hint).

  9. Yeah I did see that but being an .exe file and me, a mac user, we don’t go down too well.

    Oh, I’m not too familiar with Macs. The exe file’s just an installer that installs the true type font into your fonts directory. If Mac uses ttf files and you want the font, shoot me an email and I’ll send the actual ttf files to you in a zip file or something so that you can install them yourself.

  10. Abu Uthman says:

    Baarak Allaahu feeka. Yeah, ttf works fine, just exe and other win specific formats don’t work straight up. If I need it I’ll email you. Jazaak Allaahu khayran.

    Regarding Al-Badawi’s Al-Wajiz, are the ahkaam within tied to a particular madh’hab, or is it like some of the more modern books like fiqh us-sunnah etc?

  11. Shaikh Abdul-Adhim’s book is very similar to Fiqh as-Sunnah, but without a lot discussion regarding the various opinions held by the schools of thought. As the title of his book suggests, it’s concise and he takes a very “Ahl al-Hadith” approach to the jurisprudence presented in it. He’ll mention the issue and then present the evidences tied to it, whether they be verses or hadiths.

    If you’re interested in reading through it, I found a scanned copy of the book in PDF of the book online, which you can view here, The shaikh’s got an explanation of his book on his website as well.

  12. Updates for Shaikh Abdul-Adhim bin Badawi have been added to the main post. Check ’em. If you’re in town and can attend, I might see you there!

  13. Updates for Shaikh Mashhur’s talks were added a few days ago, for those who didn’t notice.

    The shaikh arrived with his wife yesterday afternoon. His talks will begin tonight, Allah willing.

    Shaikh Abdul-‘Adhim was great. I wasn’t able to catch many of his talks, but I was blessed with the opportunity to hear his sermon on Friday, which was really nice. Those of you who missed his talks can watch the videos on QSSC’s UStream page. All videos broadcasted on QSSC’s channel are archived and can be found here (arranged from newest to oldest); enjoy!

  14. tuwaylib says:

    as salam aleykum

    jazak allah khair for the link, i listened to it last night with br navaid translating. Couple questions, what are the topics that sh mashoor will cover before the weekend, and his wife a scholar, will she have sessions with sisters.

  15. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah, tuwaylib.

    jazak allah khair for the link, i listened to it last night with br navaid translating. Couple questions, what are the topics that sh mashoor will cover before the weekend, and his wife a scholar, will she have sessions with sisters.

    Wa iyyak. Unfortunately, I don’t know the answer to either question. The best thing to do would be to contact QSS through the admin email. They should be able to answer at least one of your questions … that is if Shaikh Mashhur is just going to pick random topics to talk about before the actual program this weekend, otherwise they’ll probably answer both. Sorry I couldn’t be of more help.

  16. Abdullah Al hallak says:

    That was a sick talk last night!

  17. I’m going to have to watch the video later. I didn’t get to QSSC until sometime into the Q&A session. I had to miss the talk to visit my brand new baby nephew! Born yesterday @ 7lbs, 9oz, walhamdulillah!

  18. Abdullah Al hallak says:

    May Allah bless you and your nephew

  19. And may Allah reward and bless you as well, Abdullah.

  20. al-Falastini says:

    Salam alaikum…

    So, how was the program?

  21. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah,

    Unfortunately, I was busy and wasn’t able to attend much of either program, so I can’t really tell you first hand how everything went. From everyone I’ve spoken to though, both shaikhs were pretty impressive and gave some beneficial talks.

    I haven’t checked them out yet, but hopefully, when I get some time to just sit down and chill, I’ll check out the archived videos for the events on Ustream (link’s in one of the above comments for whoever’s interested).

Leave a Reply

