23rd Annual QSS Conference Updates

Just to let everyone who’s interested know, Shaikhs Ali Hasan, Basim, Husain and Khalid all have their visas and have confirmed they will attend. Visas for Shaikhs Husain and Muhammad Musa are is still pending. Insha’allah, they’ll he’ll get their his visas on time and will be able to make the visit.

Update Dec.24, 2009:

From the QSSC mailing list:

Sheikh Hussein Al Awaishah is joining the Conference
Insha’Allah Sheikh Hussein Al Awaishah will be arriving on Saturday. He will join us on Sunday and will stay with us until January 4, 2010. He will be conducting lectures at the QSSC center during his stay Insha’Allah.
Stay tuned for the schedule as details will be posted on the website www.qssc.org.

Update Dec. 22, 2009:

From QSSC’s mailing list:

as-Salam ‘alaikum wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh,
 
Live !!! Broadcast
Insha’Allah we will be LIVE !!! Broadcasting the conference through our website. The only thing you need to do is to go www.qssc.org and click play or the arrow in the middle of the video screen. The Live!!! Streaming will be available during the conference only (24, 25, 26 and 27).
Please refer to the website for more details.  

Donation
We need your Financial support Insha’Allah. Please visit our website and Donate Online.  

Conference Fees
There will be a fee charged at the door Insha’Allah and that is to cover the Conference expenses.
Adults (Brothers and sisters): $10 (for the whole conference.)*
Kids (under the age of 10):    $  5 (for the whole conference.)
 
Babysitting will be provided for a fee of $5 per day for the 24th and 25th of December and $10 per day for the 26th and 27th of December.
 
The conference schedule (with the most recent updates) will be available on the website www.qssc.org and at the Abu Huraira center registration desk Insha Allah.
 
 Jazakum Allah Khairan
 
* If you attend 1 day or 4 days the fee will remain $10 Insha’Allah.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

7 Responses to 23rd Annual QSS Conference Updates

  1. tawheedfirst says:

    MashaAllah – Shaykh Husayn Al Awayishah.

    Is this his first visit to North America?

  2. I’m not sure if it’s his first ever visit, but I think it might be. If I get a chance, I’ll ask Abdulmonem or the shaikh himself.

  3. Abul Qayyim Faheem ibn Talut says:

    As salaamu alaikum,

    Akhee Rasheed, will you be providing a report of how the conference went for those of us who were unable to make it?

  4. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah, Abul-Qayyim.

    Unfortunately, I was busy doing other things and wasn’t able to take in any of the talks. So I can’t really say much about those. The turn out was good, though–both in terms of those who attended in person and in terms of number of viewers on UStream (I’ll have to see if there are some stats to verify, but I heard that during the lecture on jihad, there were a few thousand viewers watching).

    I got to see a lot of faces I haven’t seen in quite some time; it’s always great to see friends you haven’t seen in a while. The brothers and sisters at the Abu Huraira Center were great. Much thanks to them and the administration for letting us use their venue; they helped out a ton … may Allah reward and bless them for their efforts.

    I may post up a bit more if I feel like it about other tidbits … but we’ll see, Allah willing.

  5. Ibn_Ahmed says:

    Assalamu alaykum akhee Rasheed,

    I’m glad to hear that the Conference was a sucess.

    Did Shaikh Alee give the Jihad Lecture you mentioned? Also, will the audios be avaiable?
    As I was unable to listen in because I was at Greenlanes, Birmingham.

    The Conference at Greenlanes was ‘extremely’ beneficial despite the scare tactics of Quilliam Foundation. Shaikh Ubaylan sent his apologies as he was unable to attend. But all the other guests gave some great lectures, very well organised by the masjid. May Allah reward them for their efforts.

  6. Oh, forgot to mention this … those who weren’t there or watching over UStream (or who were but didn’t hear it), it was mentioned that this was Shaikh Husain’s first visit to North America.

    He’s here visiting with his wife, who has been teaching tajwid classes at Abu Huraira all week (info’s on the QSSC site). Shaikh Husain has also been visiting a few mosques to give talks in the evenings (I haven’t been able to attend any due to work).

    From what I’ve been told, he’ll be giving a lecture tonight at QSSC. Friday sermon at QSSC will also be given by Shaikh Husain, then there is a program scheduled for the weekend starting Friday evening, the theme being “Purification of the Souls”.

  7. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah, Ibn_Ahmed,

    I didn’t hear the jihad lecture, but if I’m not mistaken, it might have been a symposium. I’ll try to find out for sure when I get a chance, Allah willing. As for the audios, I’m not sure when those will be made available. They only recorded video for the talks, so they’re going to have to extract the audio from the video files.

    Glad to hear about the Green Lane conference being a success; and the praise is Allah’s. I have to say, when I saw the invite list, I was quite jealous, heh. I’m glad that the other guests were able to make it even if Shaikh Abdullah al-Ubailan wasn’t able to. Next time, Allah willing.

    Regarding what I mentioned above regarding the number of viewers who tuned in for the jihad talk, I spoke to two brothers today after Friday sermon who both told me today that they saw the number get as high as close to 8,000 viewers.

Leave a Reply

