Quote … Unquote … no. 13

Here’s another quote from the same brother who sent me the previous one. This one’s quite nice and gives us all (including myself, especially in recent days) something to seriously ponder on.

Allah, glorified and exalted is He, created this human race[1] for Himself and laid special claim to it. He created everything for it and on account of it,[2] just as in the divine narration, “Son of Adam, I created you for Myself and I created everything for you. So by My right upon you, do not distract yourself with what I created for you from what I created you for.”[3] In another narration, [He said], “Son of Adam, I created you for Myself, so do not play.[4] I guaranteed your provision, so do not toil. Son of Adam, seek Me, you will find Me. If you find Me, you will have found everything while if I eluded you, everything will have eluded you—and I am more beloved[5] to you than everything.”[6] He, glorified and exalted is He, made the prayer a connective cause to His closeness, dialogue [with Him], His love, and intimacy with Him.

Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyyah
Kitâb Asrâr asSalâh wal-Farq wal-Muwâzanah bain Dhawq asSalâh was-Samâ’, pgs. 68-69.

Edit:

For those wanting to see the original Arabic of the quoted passage, you can see the image below (click it to see the full image). May Allah reward and bless the brother who sent me the quote for also sending me the scan.

Some interesting notes taken from the scan and added to the quote above:

[1] “[H]uman” is not in [manuscript] س.

[2] “[O]n account of it” is not in [manuscript] ط, and in [manuscript] ع is “He created everything on account of it.”

[3] Ibn al-Qayyim mentioned this narration in [several] of his writings. He mentioned it in his book Tarîq al-Hijratain (83, 367) and in Rawdah al-Muhibbîn (304). Shaikh of Islam Ibn Taimiyyah mentioned it, as in Majmū’ al-Fatâwâ (1/23), and al-Munâwî, as in Faid al-Qadîr (2/305). All of them said, “and in the divine report.” This expression is said sometimes for narrations narrated from the Children of Israel; and it is the [more] acceptable [opinion] regarding the likes of this narration.

[4] “[S]o do not play” is not in [manuscript] م.

[5] In [manuscript] ط is “better.”

[6] Ibn Kathîr mentioned this narration in his exegesis (4/239) and said, “and in some of the divine books.” Ibn al-Qayyim mentioned it in ad-Dâ’ wad-Dawâ’ (141) and in Tarîq al-Hijratain (83, 367) and al-Munâwî in Faid al-Qadîr (4/305). All of them traced it back to the divine report or narration, alluding to it [being] from the Israelite [traditions]; and each of the two previous narrations are correct in meaning.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

3 Responses to Quote … Unquote … no. 13

  1. Syed says:

    Subhanallah.. beautiful quote!
    Could you please share the arabic version of the two lines in particular:

    “Son of Adam, I created you for Myself and I created everything for you.”

    and

    “So by My right upon you, do not distract yourself with what I created for you from what I created you for.”

    Barakallah alayk

    Though my arabic is very elementary – still, I get a tiny sense how elegant the arabic must be, given how elegant the english translation of it resonates.. you know what I mean?

    wassalam

  2. as-Salam ‘alaikum wa rahmatullah,

    Unfortunately, the computer I’m currently on doesn’t have Arabic text support, so I’m going to have to wait until I get to a computer that does have it in order to post the quotes in their original Arabic. Allah willing, I’ll edit this comment and add the quotes when I do, which should be in a few hours. My apologies.

    Edit: I’ve added a scanned image of the original Arabic taken from the book (may Allah reward and bless the brother who sent me the quote initially for sending me the scan as well), as well as some of the footnotes found in the scan to the original post above. I hope those reading this find some added benefit in them.

  3. Syed says:

    .. wa alaykum as-salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu.

    Jazakallah khayrun for adding this, and excelling beyond that which what was requested. *smile*

    wassalam

Leave a Reply

