Quote … Unquote … no. 12

I got this quote from an email one brother sent me, may Allah reward and bless him, and since I haven’t posted anything in quite a while, I thought I’d share it with you folks (sorry for the long period of inactivity on my part; I’ve been preoccupied with worldly matters).

al-Khallâl said,

Muhammad bin Ahmad atTarsūsî informed me saying, “I heard Muhammad bin Yazîd al-Mustamilî saying a man asked Ahmad bin Hanbal, ‘Do I write down the books of opinion?’ He (i.e., Ahmad) said, ‘Do not do [it]. Upon you are the narrations and the Hadîth.” So the questioner said to him, ‘Surely ‘Abdallah bin al-Mubârak has written them.’ So Ahmad said to him, ‘Ibn al-Mubârak was not revealed from the heaven! Certainly, we were ordered to take knowledge from above.'”

Tabaqât al-Hanâbilah, vol. 2, pg. 392.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

