Israel & Palestine: Roots of Conflict & Prospects for Peace

It’s short notice, but I only found out about this event a short while ago. A few friends and I will be checking it out, Allah willing, so I thought I’d share it with my readers. For anyone living in the GTA who are interested, Canadians for Justice and Peace in the Middle East (CJPME) will be holding an event tomorrow (Thursday, January 15, 2009) at the University of Toronto‘s Mississauga campus.

They will be hosting a talk by Dr. Norman Finkelstein, who will be speaking on Israel and Palestine: Roots of Conflict and Prospects for Peace. More details on the event can be found here @ CJPME’s website. Anyone wanting to know more about Dr. Finkelstein, you can check out his blog (linked to above).

Update:

Those wondering how the talk went … for starters, a couple of the brothers I was planning on attending with weren’t able to make it. Then, with some bad planning on our part, those of us that did make the 50km trek to Erin Mills arrived a little late (traffic was … uhh … quite crappy). The lecture theatre held about 500 people; there were about half that or more waiting outside who got refused entry. We hung around for a bit because we heard that they were going to broadcast the talk on some screens they had set up outside the lecture hall, but that didn’t end up happening either. I ended up driving some of the guys home and then heading out with a couple of the others to a Somali restaurant to stuff our faces.

I did some searching this morning and found a video of what I assume is the same talk Dr. Finkelstein would have given last night. This two part video was recorded at the University of Washington in Seattle on May 8, 2008. I’m going to watch it just now, Allah willing.

Part 1:

Part 2:

Related Links:

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

2 Responses to Israel & Palestine: Roots of Conflict & Prospects for Peace

  1. alboriqee says:

    You don’t allow extrenal links do you?
    email me if it is different than this inshallah

  2. I allow external links depending on the context they’re posted in and what they link to.

    I deleted your comment because it wasn’t really relevant to the announcement for Finkelstein’s lecture at UofT-Mississauga.

Leave a Reply

