Update from the Land of Tea & Crumpets

I thought I’d post an update since my blog’s been pretty dead since we left Toronto nearly a month ago. For those who care and are wondering …

… continuing from my last post, I’m still without my laptop. From what I was told, I should hear from the shop today (Allah willing). I dropped by last week to ask them what was going on with it and was told that the problem with the backlight was due to a problem with the motherboard, which kind of makes sense since the problems with my laptop begun after Mustafaa (my 2 year old) poured an entire cup of water on the laptop’s keyboard. Needless to say, I’m expecting it to cost me a bit, i.e., £££!!!! (but hey, that’s Allah’s decree and He does what He wills).

I’m still on my sister-in-law’s MacBook, which she’s left here for us to use (much thanks to her for that). I’m still getting used the differences between it and a regular laptop (I still don’t like MacBooks, by the way). She’s got MS Word installed, but does not have Arabic text support or some of the other various fonts I need for my translations. As a result, I still haven’t gotten any work done. I’ve resorted to buying a good old fashioned lined paper notebook from Morrison’s so that I can get a little bit of stuff done. I haven’t been doing much translating, or even reading for that matter, so I don’t have anything new to post up for you guys; sorry.

For those wondering about the book I’m currently reading (i.e., Tark al-’Amal adhDhâhir wa Atharuh fil-Îmân), as mentioned just previously, I haven’t been doing much reading the last few days. I haven’t gotten much further than where I was last time I posted; I’m only at about pg. 115; but so far, it’s just as Shaikh ‘Alî Hasan al-Halabî told me when he visited us in Toronto recently, that the book is strong. The shaikh, may Allah reward and bless him and increase him in virtue and knowledge, has done an amazing job at explaining the reality of faith, presenting the view of the People of the Sunnah and Congregation’s statements in that regard, and refuting the doubts presented by the “opposers” in this matter, both in this book and the one previous to it, Sharh Alfâdh as-Salaf wa Naqd Alfâdh al-Khalaf fî Haqîqah al-Îmân; I highly recommend reading both books for whoever wants a clear picture of faith and its reality according to the People of the Sunnah.

Regarding the brothers I’ve met here, I’ve hooked up with brother AbdulHaq Addae from SalafiManhaj.com several times thus far and he’s introduced me to a slew of brothers (may Allah reward and bless him), all of whom have been really nice and welcoming; may Allah reward and bless them all and increase them in virtue. As an added bonus, it’s also been nice finally putting faces to some of the names I’ve been seeing on mailing lists and various discussion forums on the internet that I participate in.

Those who know of the recent QSSC conference with Shaikh Abū Anas Muhammad Mūsâ Nasr and visit my blog regularly will know that I left for London only a few days into the shaikh’s visit and was unable to stay to hear the remainder of the shaikh’s talks. Fortunately enough, I was able to see Shaikh Abū Anas this past Friday and Saturday, as he’s here visiting London in place of Shaikh ‘Alî Hasan, who was supposed to come for Brixton Mosque‘s Return to ‘Ilm 12, which started this past Saturday and will end today. I was also fortunate to see Shaikh Bâsim al-Jawabirah, who made an unexpected visit to Brixton Mosque on Saturday evening immediately after arriving at the airport (he had arrived a day late due to some circumstances—the organizers wanted to allow the shaikh to rest, but he wanted to come and greet the brothers; may Allah increase him in virtue), and Shaikh Faisal al-Jâsim, who I met the previous weekend, also at Brixton Mosque. Both shaikhs are very nice and easy going, may Allah preserve and protect them, and I hope that they’ll be able to visit us in Toronto sometime in the future so that we can benefit from their knowledge.

With regards to family matters, for those wondering what we’ve been up to here in London, most of our time has been spent at home with the in-laws. We’ve also gotten a chance to visit some other relatives (both my wife’s and my own) around the city. Other than the National History Museum visit, which I mentioned in my previous post, we’ve visited the Science Museum, which was pretty cool. We watched an IMAX film on the Deep Sea, which was really cool. It was the first time we’ve seen an IMAX film and I personally, was well impressed with the 3D experience. We also visited the London Aquarium with the entire family, which was nice. We were planning to check out a few other places including Chessington, LegoLand, Tower Bridge, Buckingham Palace, but the weather hasn’t been the greatest, so we’ve had to take “rain checks” on some of these places, while canceling others. Also on the list of future possible outings is Sea Life in Southend.

The kids, for those wondering, are doing well. They’re getting well spoiled by their grandparents and aunts here. Saleem (my youngest, who is only 10 months) has learned how to climb up and down stairs here at my in-laws’ house; that makes two of my three kids (Aasiyah and Saleem) who have learned how to do that in this very house! Masha’allah!

That’s about it for now. I’ve got to start getting ready to head out (we’re taking the kids swimming, Allah willing). Hopefully, I’ll have my laptop back by the end of this week at the latest and I’ll be able to finally get some real work done. If not, then I guess you visitors will have to settle for these random vacation updates, which aren’t too frequent anyhow.

Peace out from London!

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

3 Responses to Update from the Land of Tea & Crumpets

  1. Eesa says:

    Asalamu’alaikum.

    Brother Rasheed, are they’re many Muslims in London? I’m thinking of going to University there. I hear East London is mainly Muslim.

    Jazakh’Allahu khary.

  2. Wa ‘alaikum as-salam wa rahmatullah,

    I’m not sure of the numbers, but the Muslims in London are a lot more visible than they are compared to Toronto. East London’s got a ton of Muslims living there … you’ll find many, many mosques and musallas there.

  3. Aboo Yoosuf says:

    London is a den for Muslims. Many like to call it Londonistan (rhyming with Pakistani-Muslims) and East London is more like South Asia than Great Britain.

    And because London is very multi-cultural, you’d find all classes, races and societies.

Leave a Reply

