How I Be, For Those Wondering

For those of you wondering how I be …

… we arrived safely here in London last Wednesday, and the praise is Allah’s. All our baggage was intact, with the exception of one of our strollers, which was pretty much destroyed by the airline (one handle bent and the other broken clean off). We’re still waiting to hear from either the Baggage Services desk at London-Gatwick airport or the airline company itself to see if we’ll be compensated for the damages.

I was wrong about my wife’s parents not having internet access; they have internet access, they just don’t have a computer. My sister-in-law has left her Apple MacBook here for us to use, but I’m not really a big fan of it. All I’ve been using it for thus far has been checking email and some random web-surfing. My laptop hasn’t been repaired yet; we’re going to check out a computer shop a friend recommended close by. Hopefully, after it’s working properly, I’ll be able to get some work done and get some new articles up for you to read and hopefully benefit from. In the meantime I’ve been reading Shaikh Ahmad bin Sâlih az-Zahrânî‘s new book, Tark al-‘Amal adhDhâhir wa Atharuh fil-Îmân (trans. Leaving the Outer Deed and Its Effect on Faith). I’m only on page 70 (the book’s about 250 pages long), and already, I’m finding it very beneficial. If any of you guys can, download the book off the shaikh’s website and read it! It’s great.

With regards to our trip, the family has been very welcoming and things have been going pretty smoothly, with Allah’s praise. We took the kids to the Natural History Museum this past Monday; man, was it packed!!! Way too crowded for my liking and way too much walking. The kids had a blast, though, which is what really matters.

I also got a chance to hook up with brother AbdulHaq Addae of SalafiManhaj.com during the weekend. We hung out for a short while before I had to get back to my in-laws’ place. Allah willing, we’ll be able to hook up a few more times before the trip’s done.

Anyhow, that’s my update for today. As I said, Allah willing, my own laptop will be in working order soon and I’ll be able to post up stuff for you. Hopefully, that’ll be sooner than later.

Peace out from London!

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

One Response to How I Be, For Those Wondering

  1. Pingback: Update from the Land of Tea & Crumpets « Rasheed Gonzales

Leave a Reply

