London, UK, Here I Come!

I’ll be heading over the pond to visit the in-laws in London, UK. I leave tonight, arriving @ Gatwick airport tomorrow morning. I will be staying (primarily in East London) for about 40 (!!) days (hehe), returning to Toronto during the first week of September.

I know I haven’t been posting too frequently, but since my mother and father-in-laws don’t have internet access at their home, it’ll probably be a while longer before I post another article or something. I’ll be bringing my laptop over with me though, so hopefully, I’ll be able to get some “work” done and have some new articles translated for your reading enjoyment. The laptop needs to be repaired though, so if any of you know of brothers who can repair laptops for cheap in East London, don’t hesitate to give me a shout; I think the FL inverter board or something needs to be replaced … screen works, but it’s very dark—practically black. If I can get it working properly, I should be able to get some stuff translated while I’m over there.

For those of you wondering how the conference is going, it’s been good so far from what I can tell. I haven’t really been able to attend the talks, because of the preparations for our trip to the UK. I was able to catch parts of some of his talks though, which were very nice. It’s too bad I won’t be able to attend the rest of the shaikh’s talks, but for those of you in Toronto still wanting to hear the shaikh lecture, he’ll still be in town for a few more days. His lecture schedule (including next weekend’s program) is posted on QSSC’s site.

Those wondering what’s next for QSSC, rumour has it that Shaikh Abū Sa’îd al-Jazâ’irî (Bal’îd bin Ahmad) will be visiting us in August sometime (visa pending). I don’t know too much about the shaikh so I can’t really say much about him. I do know, however, that the shaikh is a graduate of the Islamic University of Madinah, having graduated in 1983. I have also heard one tape of his where he replies to some statements made against him, which I found to be very nice. The shaikh’s got very good manners and was very respectful in addressing the issues he spoke about. The shaikh also has some recorded lectures available on IslamWay where he explains Shaikh ‘Abdul-‘Adhîm al-Badawî’s book, al-Wajîz fî Fiqh as-Sunnah wal-Kitâb al-‘Azîz, which is a very nice (concise) book on Islamic jurisprudence (it’s been translated into English by Jamal Zarabozo and published by IIPH under the title The Concise Presentation of the Fiqh for those interested in the book).

Edit (Aug. 3, 2008): Jaza khairan brother Mikiel who just hooked me up with Shaikh Abū Sa’îd Bal’îd bin Ahmad’s website. For those of you wanting more info on the shaikh, check it out.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

