What’s Up …

I know I haven’t been posting too frequently as of late. So to the regular visitors to my blog, I apologize, yet again. This time, my time has been taken up by the recent QSSC conference as well as an unfinished project I’ve been trying pretty hard to complete.

Regarding the conference, hopefully, when I have some time to sit down and jot down my thoughts on the recent visit by our shaikh, ‘Alî Hasan al-Halabî, I’ll post something about that. I’ll try to include some details about the lectures he gave during the conference and at the various mosques we took him to. If possible, I may also post some of the lecture notes my wife took during the lectures she attended (I almost never take notes, although I probably should). I’m also thinking about including some nice little tidbits from the time I was fortunate enough to spend with the shaikh outside of the lectures, but we’ll see about that.

As for the unfinished project, I’ve mentioned previously that I’ve been reading Sharh Alfâdh as-Salaf wa Naqd Alfâdh al-Khalaf fî Haqîqah al-Îmân by Shaikh Ahmad bin Sâlih az-Zahrânî (I’m still reading it by the way; possibly the best book I’ve ever read on the subject, may Allah reward the shaikh with every good for writing it). I’ve also mentioned previously that I’ve been translating a rather long article concerning whether or not the deed of the limbs is included in faith’s root. I’ve finally finished translating the article; and Allah’s is the praise. Much thanks to my “better half” who’s currently helping me proofread it; may Allah reward her with the best reward. Allah willing, I’ll be posting the finished article very soon. So keep an eye out for it!

Some rumours floating around about future QSSC events … Shaikh Abū Anas Muhammad bin Mūsâ Âl Nasr is expected to be visiting Chicago next month some time. If he gets his visa to the US, the plan is to have him visit us here in Toronto for a week or so after his visit to Chicago. Allah willing, he’ll be able to make the trip and benefit us with his knowledge. Also floating around the rumour mill is a planned visit near the end of July by Shaikh Dr. ‘Abdur-Rahman bin ‘Abdil-Jabbâr al-Firîwâ’î, an Indian shaikh who resides and teaches in Saudi Arabia. If I can find some info about the shaikh, I’ll be posting it, Allah willing.

So, there you have it. That’s what up.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

3 Responses to What’s Up …

  1. Pingback: Is the Limbs’ Deed Included in Faith’s Root? « Rasheed Gonzales

  2. Pingback: Key to Paradise in Review: Part 1 « Rasheed Gonzales

  3. Pingback: Shaikh Muhammad Mūsâ Nasr Coming to Toronto! « Rasheed Gonzales

Leave a Reply

