Dr. Marranci: Terrorism in the name of Jesus? Everybody ignore

Doc Marranci’s posted a new entry, which I saw this morning in my Blog Surfer. Its title peaked my interest, so I thought I’d check it out. Lo and behold, more news that you don’t usually find on Western news outlets. Searching for this (Christian) terrorist’s name, Google only produces one hit from a Western news agency (a Time magazine article from 20 years ago, at that). I also ran a search for the guy’s name on the usual news agency sites (some of which I’ve mentioned previously) and came up with jack. At least with the Buddhist story I got a couple of results. I guess Christian terrorism isn’t very high on the Western media’s best selling stories list either.

In any case, have a peak at Doc Marranci’s coverage of it; the sources he links to are mostly—if not all—Italian.

From the article:

To tell the truth, I thought that news about the first Christian anti-Muslim terrorist group would have attracted international attention and fostered new debates. Think, indeed, if the terrorist’s name instead of Roberto was something like Muhammad; imagine the titles, the talks, the politicians’ words and the special legislations proposed. Well, we do not have very much to imagine, we need only to open a British newspaper.

But the news about a self-defined Christian terrorist and a Christian (mainly Catholic) terrorist organization has attracted virtually no attention. Nothing can be found, (at the moment in which I am writing) on the BBC (even BBC Europe) or the main British newspapers or the US. Furthermore, even those Italian newspapers which have dealt with the story, have not called the attacks, before often dismissed as the work of immigrants’ rackets and mafia, Christian terrorism, or referred to Mr Sandalo as a Christian terrorist (despite his own claim!). ‘How is it possible to kill in the name of Jesus?’ Many have asked. Well, history surely has the answer. It is not the first time; it will not be the last. I had the impression that many Italians (and by extension Europeans and Americans) would perceive as less dramatic the killing of people in a mosque than in a Church.

I have the impression that after so many wars against Muslim countries, audiences are becoming used to seeing Muslims dead, and, in some cases, some people maybe start to prefer them as such. None of the Italian or European politicians have condemned the actions, and plans, of the Fighting Christian Front. None of the clergy or the Pope has condemned or commented upon the actions committed in the name of Jesus. The message is clear: a mad Marxist – now fanatic Catholic – is perceived for what he is, a violent fool; while a mad Muslim who dreams of violent jihad is perceived as the correct expression of his religion.

Read on … Terrorism in the name of Jesus? Everybody ignore.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

2 Responses to Dr. Marranci: Terrorism in the name of Jesus? Everybody ignore

  1. Over on his blog, Dr. Marranci posted the following comments to the comments section for this entry:

    April 16, 2008 at 11:22 am:

    Today I have decided to write to Mr Jon Williams the BBC world news editor and ask the reason why, despite the various, often even crazy, news they are able to report from around the world, the Fronte Combattente Cristiano or ‘Fighting Christian Front’ never was.
    below my email to Mr Williams:

    Dear Mr Jon Williams
    I have noticed that the BBC has not reported at all the case of Roberto Sandalo, the self-defined Christian Italian terrorist. Yet I have often noticed that even the most insignificant (or sometimes misleading) information about Muslim terrorism around the world is promptly reported. I have also noticed it is not unusual to find in the BBC website crazy stories such as the one about the Sudanese guy who was married to a goat.
    I really would appreciate, as part of my own academic research, to know why the BBC has decided not to report this story (or if it has been reported, where I can find it).
    I thank you in advance for your kind answer
    Gabriele
    http://marranci.wordpress.com/

    Looking for the reply!

    Gabriele

    And just a few hours ago, April 21, 2008 at 6:06 pm:

    Dear all,

    I see that BBC is able to report a piece of news such as ‘Mecca time

    But has missed: 1) the attack on mosques in France, yesterday 2) the development of the anti-Muslim terrorist ring in Italy (though publishing articles about the Lega Nord and its electoral success)

    Some of you may ask: Have they at least replied to your email and questions? The answer of course is ‘no, they did not’. But of course, they have phoned me several time for programs on ‘radicalism in Prison’.

    I will be very curious to know how they select news. Surely they have more time for curioisities than actual important news.
    So, if in the world of Islam a Muslim loses a hair, this will be reported. If Sandalo&Co planned to bomb Muslims (including Muslim children and whoever was supposed to be in the vicinity), this remains unreported.

    Best wishes
    Gabriele

  2. marranci says:

    Yap, no reply at all!
    Gabriele

Leave a Reply

