Weapons Found in Tibetan Temples

Whether it’s true or not, Allah is more knowledgeable, but this is news you don’t find on many Western news outlets. I don’t know if it’s that I’m not searching hard enough or what, but I haven’t been able to find this story on local news agency sites; the Globe & Mail, the Star, CityNews, the Post, CBC, the Canadian News Wire and CTV, all failed to produce any search results for me. Likewise, I was unable to find anything on BBC and CNN. I was, however, able to find (brief) mention of the story on Reuters and the Associated Press (via USA Today).

Most of the hits I’ve gotten are from Asian news agencies who report that the Chinese “security authorities turned up 178 guns, 13,013 bullets, 359 swords, 3,504 kilograms of dynamite, 19,360 detonators and two hand grenades” (source). MediaScrape has a video of a news broadcast regarding the story as well. I’ve also got various hits from Chinese, Indian and other Eastern news agencies about the story.

I guess Western media isn’t too interested in covering violence involving Buddhists. Seems as it doesn’t sell as much as stories about clashes involving Muslims.

Related Links:

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

2 Responses to Weapons Found in Tibetan Temples

  1. Pingback: China, Tibet and U.S.-Sponsored Counterrevolution « Rasheed Gonzales

  2. Pingback: Dr. Marranci: Terrorism in the name of Jesus? Everybody ignore « Rasheed Gonzales

Leave a Reply

