Saudi Arabia: Rehabilitating Jihadists

Many thanks to brother AbdulHaq for sending this link out. Pretty interesting video on Saudi Arabia’s rehab program for rehabilitation of jihadists and excommunicationists (takfîrîs).

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

9 Responses to Saudi Arabia: Rehabilitating Jihadists

  1. mkhalifa says:

    Somewhat related: http://www.cbc.ca/news/reportsfromabroad/durham/20071218.html

  2. as-Salâm ‘alaikum wa rahmatullah,

    May Allah reward and bless you for the link. I think that was written by the same reporter who did the vid.

  3. shariq says:

    Assalaamu alaikum warahmatullah. Sorry to post this here, but I was wondering if you know who the brother is that runs the blog http://www.synkronyzer.wordpress.com also known as exexblogger etc?.. Apparently he is a graduate of the university of madinah and an imaam at some masjid in what i think is the usa or canada. not sure though.

    Also, this video you posted here was really nice to watch maashaAllah. I have personally prayed jumah at shaikh jeelaan’s masjid, the shaikh who gives the class in the video, writing on the white board etc to the ex jihadis. his masjid, before he moved to riyadh i guess for this work was down the road from my apt here in jeddah. maashaAllah. now he’s busy with all the rehabilitation stuff with these guys. may Allah grant the government success with this whole program. aameen.

    your brother,
    shariq.

  4. Wa ‘alaikum as-salâm wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh, brother Shariq,

    Sorry, I don’t know who runs that blog. I’ve seen his name around commenting on other people’s blogs and I’ve visited his before, but I don’t know who he is or where he’s based out of.

  5. shariq says:

    assalaamu alaikum warahmatullah. the reason why i ask is because i commented on one of his posts wherein he attacks the muslims rulers of saudi arabia, expressing my astonishment at his actions and the fact that this is not from the way of the salaf etc..my comment remained on his blog for about half a day after which it was removed and now when i went back to post again my comments are not showing up. really strange behavior which leaves a bad taste iin my mouth for the brother.

    Just thought i would let you know of my own experience with him. takecare.

    jazakAllahukhairan
    shariq

  6. AbdulHaq says:

    As-Salaamu alaykum,

    Well, judging by the Islamic sites he links to, such a response from him is not surprising in the slightest! Namely, the website frequented by the majaheel “jihadi” imbeciles ‘islamic awakening’!

    AbdulHaq ibn Kofi ibn Kwesi al-Ashanti

  7. AbdulHasib says:

    Salaamu’alaikum wa rahmatullah

    Shariq don’t you have his email address?

    I can forward you his number bro to clear things up -)

    BaarakAllahufeek

  8. Assalamoalaikum,

    Hasib brotha… that’s not me… that’s some fake shariq. This is the real ShariQ, the one who drinks Pakola and knows about H.B. :)

    I do judge other brothers (we’re all human), but i don’t go around posting those judgements on blogs becuase i feel i’m “benefiting” the person.

    This is an interesting blog though. no doubt.

    Wsalam playas

  9. shariq says:

    assalaamu alaikum warahmatullah. I apologize to the brother rasheed for dragging his blog, which is highly beneficial alhumdulillah, into this. I am the one who initiated this discussion and it has nothing to do with brother Rasheed or his blog.

    JazakAllahukhairan.

Leave a Reply

