Proposed Abualrub-Spencer Debate (Updated)

Looking for updates on some of the various websites I visit from time to time, I found this:

Brother Jalal Abualrub, of IslamLife.com repute and translator of numerous Islamic works, has accepted a challenge to debate Robert Spencer, renowned (pseudo)expert on Islam, anti-Islam polemicist, bigot, racist, hate-monger, and whatever else you want to describe him as (how’s that for more ad hominem attacks? Heh).

From Jalal’s site:

The Topic:  Do Contemporary Muslim Terrorists represent “The True Islam” OR Not?   Arguing in favor of the Position will be Mr. Robert Spencer.  He will explain why the actions of terrorists are “consistent” with Islamic Teachings using The Qur’an, Sunnah, and Reliable Fatwas of Authentic Islamic Scholars.   He will also likely address as part of his thesis:

  • Why the 2005 Fiqh Council of North America’s Fatwa condemning terrorism is “Fake” and why Muslim organizations are “deceitful” when they allegedly claim to “renounce terrorism”

  • Why Muslims are deceitful when they deceptively say that “Islam prohibits the killing of innocents” and at the same time also state that “No Non-Muslim is innocent” thereby validating the killing of Non-Muslims

  • His understanding of the Concept of Abrogation in Islam, Surah 9:5, 9:29, and the famous related Hadith “I have been commanded to fight the people” and how these all correlate to and support the actions of Terrorists today.

Arguing against the Position will be Imam Jalal AbuAlrub.  He will argue using The Qur’an, Sunnah, and Reliable Fatwas from Authentic Islamic Scholars and attempt to convince the Audience through his words and arguments on why Mr. Spencer is wrong on Islamic Grounds and not to try to “deny facts” or “skirt the issues” or “make hollow claims of ignorance” like Mr. Spencer believes many Islamic Apologists currently do.

I’d like to see how Spencer defends his bile against brother Jalal; this should be interesting.

For more info, visit IslamLife.com.

Update from Jalal’s site:

Robert Spencer said, “Well as you may know I am a Melkite Catholic and my family is from the Islamic world.  I remember being intrigued by the Koran and while in college several Muslim students knew of my background and ask me to read the Koran.  I was happy to and spent a great deal of time reading the Koran and asking questions.  I think my Muslim friends thought because of my interest that they could convert me but I was quite happy in my faith.”

Jalal Abualrub Asserts that Robert Spencer is as Ignorant in Islam and the Quran as Craig Winn is.

Update: Robert Spencer refuses to unconditionally fulfill his promise to debate Jalal Abualrub Face-to-Face, even after Jalal Abualrub offers him a free reign to set all the rules, on equal basis, and choose the time, date, venue, topic, moderator, plus a 5-minute bonus, extra time Spencer can use in his opening statement.  Read the email exchange and judge for yourself who is reneging on his promise and who is not…

Jalal Abualrub Wrote:

I accept the challenge presented here by M. (…) and request that Mr. Spencer also accept the challenge, so that we proceed with the planning of the event.

Jalal Abualrub

—– Original Message —–
From:
To: director@jihadwatch.org ; islamlife@gmail.com ; Info@IslamLife.Com
Sent: Saturday, October 06, 2007 3:57 AM
Subject: The Proposal for a Debate

“I present the work on the basis of the evidence I bring forth, and invite readers to evaluate it for themselves. Critics have again and again mounted ad hominem attacks in response; they do not (and cannot) bring forth even a single example of a supposed inaccuracy in my work. I would, of course, be happy to debate any scholar about Islam and jihad; this is a standing invitation. Also, as this site has shown, I am always open to new information.”        

          <http://www.jihadwatch.org/spencer/>

                      “Can’t we talk about this?” 

– Robert Spencer 

The Topic:  Do Contemporary Muslim Terrorists represent “The True Islam” OR Not?   Arguing in favor of the Position will be Mr. Robert Spencer.  He will explain why the actions of terrorists are “consistent” with Islamic Teachings using The Qur’an, Sunnah, and Reliable Fatwas of Authentic Islamic Scholars.   He will also likely address as part of his thesis:

  • Why the 2005 Fiqh Council of North America’s Fatwa condemning terrorism is “Fake” and why Muslim organizations are “deceitful” when they allegedly claim to “renounce terrorism”

  • Why Muslims are deceitful when they deceptively say that “Islam prohibits the killing of innocents” and at the same time also state that “No Non-Muslim is innocent” thereby validating the killing of Non-Muslims

  • His understanding of the Concept of Abrogation in Islam, Surah 9:5, 9:29, and the famous related Hadith “I have been commanded to fight the people” and how these all correlate to and support the actions of Terrorists today.

Arguing against the Position will be Imam Jalal AbuAlrub.  He will argue using The Qur’an, Sunnah, and Reliable Fatwas from Authentic Islamic Scholars and attempt to convince the Audience through his words and arguments on why Mr. Spencer is wrong on Islamic Grounds and not to try to “deny facts” or “skirt the issues” or “make hollow claims of ignorance” like Mr. Spencer believes many Islamic Apologists currently do.

I would suggest the following format:

Debate Format:

Opening Statements (20 – 30 Minutes)

Rebuttals (10 – 15 Minutes)

Counter-Rebuttals (5 – 10 Minutes)

Q/A Session with Audience

To make things convenient for Mr. Spencer I request that he suggest the location, time, size of audience, and moderator. 

Possible Proposals for the Distribution of the Message:

  1. The Debate will be taped, published and distributed to the public on a DVD for a charge for which the profits will be split equally between Mr. Spencer and Imam AbuAlrub

  2. The Debate will be taped and made available for free on www.youtube.com

(Whatever you guys agree upon and think is best).

Mr. Spencer and Imam AbuAlrub, I wish you both good luck.  I introduced you to each other because after reviewing your backgrounds and having some email correspondence with both of you, I think you guys are a pretty good match for each other and I hope you both will accept this proposal to spread your respective messages to the Muslim and Non-Muslim audiences in America who “really need to be educated.” 

I request that despite your differences, that you both have dignity and respect each other as human beings and that both of you be on your best behavior and not try to appeal to people based on “emotions” and “name-callings of your opponent,” but rather base your arguments on the facts and realities of Islamic Theology.

Mr. Spencer’s email is director@jihadwatch.org

Imam AbuAlrub’s emails are info@islamlife.com, islamlife@gmail.com 

Best Regards, …

You can read more from the correspondence between the two here.

 

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

8 Responses to Proposed Abualrub-Spencer Debate (Updated)

  1. Apparently he refused to accept the challenge.

  2. Wow. I just checked IslamLife and read Jalal’s email to Spencer. That’s unfortunate. I really would have liked to see that debate go down. Oh well, that’s Allah’s destiny and what He willed. Perhaps Spencer will man-up to the challenge in the future.

    For those who wish to read Jalal’s email, here’s its text (as it appears on Jalal’s site):

    Sorry for your reply.. It is sad that non-Muslim authors who write against Islam and are being portrayed as ‘experts on Islam’ refuse to debate qualified Muslims on their own ideas and their own books, even those who challenge Muslims to debate them, instead of letting the world know who is saying the truth and who is not. I have not met a western author yet who would accept my challenge to formally debate me on Islam; I was hoping you would be number one, but, sorry you did not rise to the challenge to try and justify your ideas about Islam and Muslims by defeating a Muslim like me and letting the world know how islam is truly terroristic, etc. The challenge presented to you still stands and, though I will not post your email to me, I will post my reply -this- to you. My email address is found here and, in case you change your mind, I will debate you anytime, anywhere: you choose the venue, set the rules -as long as they are on equal terms, choose the topic and the moderator. Jalal abualrub islamlife@gmail.com

  3. According to Jalal, Spencer changed his mind, but he wants to do a “print debate”.

  4. More updates from Jalal’s site:

    Jalal Abualrub wrote: I accept the challenge to debate Robert Spencer

    Update: Robert Spencer refuses to accept the challenge

    2nd Update: Spencer agrees to the debate and chooses the topic

    3rd Update: Spencer now insists on a ‘print debate’ or else Jalal is afraid!

    4th Update: Spencer again refuses to debate me!

    I warned Spencer that, unless he responds positively by 6 PM EST, I will post our email exchange and let the readers decide who is reneging on what!

    Simply amazing!

    Jalal wrote: “What else should I do to make this happen?”

  5. al-boriqee says:

    asalamu alaikum
    that devil is a pure idiot.

    Inshallah I just spoke with Amr and Abu Ahmad will post the entire e-mail messaging he had with that devil so the people can know him for the fake master distorter that he is bi ithnillah

    asalamu alaikum

  6. mkhalifa says:

    Maybe we should all make du’aa in these last few nights of Ramadan that the debate takes place. :D

  7. Sameer Parker says:

    I would not hold my breathe for Robert Spencer to debate Jalal. I have posted a comprehensive list of refutations by various ulamaa and others refuting the khawarij and *I know for a fact* that he has read it as I have emailed him (he emailed a one line response saying he would respond on his site but never did and others sent it to him…still nothing), but he has chosen to ignore this while still claiming that no Muslim has dared to challenge him on his claims. This is how I know that this man is a charlatan

    Because he knows his audience, he often accuses Muslims of “thuggery” hoping to evoke images of Muslims rioting and such things.

  8. I find it funny that of all people, Spencer would worry about his opponent using emotionally charged and demagogic arguments, grandstanding, and sensationalism against him. If anything, the advantage in that would lie with Spencer, not with Abualrub–especially with the media’s portrayal of Islam and Muslims in current times.

Leave a Reply

