Shaikh Abū Hâtim is Here

For those of you in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area), Shaikh Abū Hâtim Usâmah bin ‘Abdil-Latîf al-Qūsî is here! He will be in town to give some talks @ QSSC and at various other mosques in the GTA.

The Shaikh is town this weekend through to the following weekend. He will be explaining the book, Raf’ al-Malâm ‘an al-A’immah al-A’lâm, which discusses differences of opinions among the scholars of Islam, their causes, and how to deal with them.

Please disregard the details on the advert pictured above (it’s just there to make the post look nice, heh).

 Here’s a tenative schedule of things occuring this week:

Friday, July 6, 2007:

  • Friday sermon @ Masjid al-Qur’an was-Sunnah (QSSC) :: 1.30pm

  • QSSC: Lectures (translated) start @ 7.00pm and continue until 11.00pm

Saturday, July 7, 2007:

  • QSSC: Lectures (translated) continue @ 1.45pm through to 5.50pm

  • QSSC: Dinner (Biryani & Chicken Tikka) @ 6.00pm through to 7.00pm

  • QSSC: Lectures (translated) continue @ 7.00 through to 11.00pm

Sunday, July 8, 2007:

  • Same as Saturday’s schedule

Monday, July 9 to Thrusday, July 12, 2007:

  • QSSC: Lectures (Arabic) from 1.45pm to 5.30pm.

  • QSSC: Lectures (translated) from 6.30pm to 8.30pm.

  • Various other mosques around the GTA (to be announced): Lectures 9.00pm to 11.00pm.

All lectures will be on recorded and available on CD for sale during the conference. Please contact brother Samer or brother Yunus for your copies.

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

12 Responses to Shaikh Abū Hâtim is Here

  1. Abu Aqil Al-Atsy says:

    Assalamu3alaikum ya akhy karim,

  2. Wa ‘alaikum as-salâm wa rahmatullah.

  3. Ibn Shahid says:

    As salaamu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullah

    Barak Allah feek for sharing this akhee. Im not sure if you’ve had a chance to read the statement of Shaykh Rabee’ on Shaykh Usaamah Qoosee’s visit to Toronto? Just wondering if you got a chance to read Shaykh Rabee’s advice on this matter. Barak Allahu feek.

  4. Wa ‘alaikum as-salâm wa rahmatullah brother Ibn Shahid,

    Yes, I got the email from Troid’s mailing list and read (as well as listened to) what Shaikh Rabî’ had to say on the matter, may Allah bless you.

    Even if I were to heed his “advice” and agree with his opinion of Shaikh Abū Hâtim (which I don’t), his warning came a bit late as the question was asked on Friday, the email sent out late Friday night, and the shaikh was scheduled to leave the following Sunday; the shaikh had been in town for just over a week already, giving some very beneficial lectures and talks.

    In any case, may Allah reward you for your concern.

  5. Ibn Shahid says:

    Na’am. Barak Allahu feekum.

  6. Abdul Wahed says:

    As salaamu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullah

    It seems as if you are implying you wouldn’t heed the Shaikh’s advice. Why would it be that you wouldn’t? I thought Shaykh Rabee’ was from the scholars of Ahlus-Sunnah, and that his words would have a certain weight, especially considering the way he was spoken of by the likes of Sh AL-Albaani, and Uthaimeen (Rahimahumullah). Also why do you have the word advice in quotation marks?

  7. Wa ‘alaikum as-salâm wa rahmatullah brother Abdul Wahed,

    May Allah reward you and bless you for your questions. Are you Abdul Wahed from the […] bookstore?

    It seems as if you are implying you wouldn’t heed the Shaikh’s advice. Why would it be that you wouldn’t?

    I think that should be obvious, at least in this particular issue; I did mention that I don’t agree with his opinion of Shaikh Abū Hâtim and that should be enough of an explanation.

    I thought Shaykh Rabee’ was from the scholars of Ahlus-Sunnah, and that his words would have a certain weight, especially considering the way he was spoken of by the likes of Sh AL-Albaani, and Uthaimeen (Rahimahumullah).

    Is there anything in my words that would suggest that I don’t consider Shaikh Rabî’ to be from the scholars of the People of the Sunnah?

    Also why do you have the word advice in quotation marks?

    Because I don’t consider the statement emailed out by the brothers from Troid concerning Shaikh Abū Hâtim to be advice.

  8. Abu Salih al-Qahiri says:

    For all those who want to know who rasheed is, then let it be known that he is the same lunatic that was running around with a secret e-mail address and slandering the scholars!! Everyone remembers ibn fulan al-miskeeni. our beloved, straight up brothers at troid foiled his sad plan against the salafees, Thank god! Apparently his treachery continues on this blog of his.

  9. Hahah! Nasir, stop causing problems. I love you too.

  10. Abdul Wahed says:

    As salaamu ‘alaykum wa rahmatullah

    May Allah guide you and us to the truth.

    As per the advice of the scholars of not hiding behind false screen names, I decided to include my real name. I would appreciate it if you could remove all sections mentioning the […] bookstore. It is not necessary to identify me in order to answer my question with sincerity.

    I posted on your blog with a sincere question, and you do not know me previously, so it is not befitting for you to pre-emptively categorize me.

    Yes, I am Abdul Wahed from the […] bookstore. I believe I saw you once when you came in with a brother.

    I think that should be obvious, at least in this particular issue; I did mention that I don’t agree with his opinion of Shaikh Abū Hâtim and that should be enough of an explanation.

    Actually, it is not sufficient as an explanation. Re-iterating your position on the Shaykh’s advice still doesn’t answer the question: Why do you not agree with Shaykh Rabee’s advice regarding Shaikh Abū Hâtim? If you are sincere in your belief, you should clarify, so that others may know the reality of the situation and gain benefit.

  11. Wa ‘alaikum as-salâm wa rahmatullah wa barakatuh,

    It is not necessary to identify me in order to answer my question with sincerity.

    No one said it was, brother. There was no intent to “pre-emptively categorized” you either. I simply asked if you were the brother from the bookstore because I was curious and because sometimes, it’s nice to actually know who you’re corresponding with. How is that categorizing you? And what category do you assume I’ve put you in? F.y.i., I do not view all the brothers at […] in the same light.

    Re-iterating your position on the Shaykh’s advice still doesn’t answer the question: Why do you not agree with Shaykh Rabee’s advice regarding Shaikh Abū Hâtim? If you are sincere in your belief, you should clarify, so that others may know the reality of the situation and gain benefit.

    Actually it does answer your original question: “[w]hy would it be that [I] wouldn’t [heed the shaikh’s advice]?” Not quite the same as this second question you’ve posed. The answer I gave you is sufficient for the original question. Now, if it’s an answer to this second question you want, then you can contact me via my email address as that’s not something I wish to get into on my blog. If it were, I would have discussed it when the other brother first asked if I had seen what Shaikh Rabî’ said.

    May Allah guide you and us to the truth.

    Âmîn.

  12. Pingback: What’s the Deal with QSS?! « Rasheed Gonzales

Leave a Reply

