“Second Chance” at Life & He’s Worried About His Debts?!

Browsing the same local news site mentioned in my previous post, I came across this story today: “Dying” Man Goes On Massive Spending Spree – Only To Find He’s Healthy. The story tells the tale of a 62-year-old British man whose doctors diagnosed him with pancreatic cancer and told him he had about six months to live. The poor bloke decides to sell or get rid of everything he’s got, refuse to pay his mortgage, and go on some massive spending binge, thinking that since he’s going to die soon, what the heck, he’s going to “live life to the fullest” before biting the big one. So after all this spending and getting ready to go out “in style”, buddy finds out that his tumour was actually just an inflamed pancreas and that he’s not dying after all … quite the pickle to find oneself in, isn’t it? I didn’t know whether I should be happy for the guy, sympathize with him, or laugh (ok, I actually laughed a bit at first—but only a little … I really don’t find pleasure in others’ misfortunes, well … most people’s misfortunes, anyhow).

Anyhow, at the end of the story on CityNews there was a link to an article published by the Telegraph titled Is debt worse than death?. The article touches on the topic of life’s purpose and the ills of atheism and the ideologies of anti-religion freaks like Richard Dawkins. Although not exactly in-line with Islamic beliefs, I found the article’s take quite interesting. We Muslims believe we have a definite and distinct purpose in life which is mentioned by Allah in the Qur’an. I thought I would share a couple of articles on this topic for those who visit my blog.

The first was written by my friend Kamil Ahmad and posted on his blog. It’s titled the Purpose Behind our Existence and can be read here. The second was written by Dr. Lawrence Brown, an American convert to Islam, which can be found on his site in three parts, titled the Big Question and can be read here: Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3 (all in PDF format).

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

