Quote … Unquote … no. 5

It is not said about knowledge [that it is] like a treasure, nor [that] one spends from it.

Salmân al-Fârisî, may Allah be pleased with him.
Silsilah al-Âthâr asSahîhah by Abū ‘Abdillah ad-Dânî bin Munîr Âl Zahawî, pg. 35

About Rasheed Gonzales
My name is Rasheed Gonzales. I’m a Muslim convert of Filipino descent. Born and raised in Toronto, Canada, I was guided to Islam through one of my younger brothers and a couple of friends, all of whom had converted to Islam sometime before me (may Allah reward them greatly). I am married with four children (and the praise is Allah’s) and also a volunteer for the Qur'an & Sunnah Society of Canada, based in Toronto.

One Response to Quote … Unquote … no. 5

  1. tawheedfirst says:

    Another amazing quote by Salmân al-Fârisî, may Allah be pleased with him:

    On the authority of Ja’far ibn Burqaan who said: “I came to know that Salmaan al-Faarise(radiyallahu ‘anhu) used to say;

    “Three things make me laugh and three things make me cry. I laugh at the one who is hopeful of the world yet death seeks him; the one who neglectful (of his Lord) while he is not neglected (by Him); the one who laughs fat the top of his voice, while he does not know whether he is pleasing his Lord or displeasing Him. Three things make me cry: parting from our beloved Muhammad(sallalahu alayhi wasallam) and his Companions; the terror of the onset of the pangs of death; and the standing in front of the Lord of the worlds while not knowing whether I will be turned towards the Fire or Paradise.”

    From: Weeping from the Fear of Allaah – Husayn Al Awaayisah

    Wa Salamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatu

Leave a Reply

